Impressions

01Mar09

In my last post, ‘Time to Play’ Terry commented that I should ‘post more nuggets’ from the workshop that she, Lou and I attended, so here it goes. Eddie Soloway spoke of creating images with limited focus and even out of focus. By doing this we achieve images with a more general feeling. For instance, a ‘feeling of forest’ rather than a specific forest. Below are 2 images I created while playing around with moving the lens during the exposure. Some photographers doing this type of work include Eddie Soloway, Tony Sweet, William Neill and Bruce Haley, just to name a few. (They all have websites easily found by googling.) The first image, ‘Forest Memories’ was created by zooming out during the exposure. And the second image, ‘Forest Dreams’ was created by panning vertically during the exposure. Another technique is to make multiple exposures with slight camera movement then put them together. And still another technique is to take one image in focus and one out of focus and then combine them, creating a halo affect. To me these images and others like them are impressions. I looked up the definition and it seems fitting: Impression – An indistinct notion or recollection.

Image created by zooming out during the exposure. © 2009 Denise Bush

Image created by zooming out during the exposure. © 2009 Denise Bush

Image created by panning vertically during the exposure. © 2009 Denise Bush

Image created by panning vertically during the exposure. © 2009 Denise Bush



3 Responses to “Impressions”

  1. 1 Bruce

    Hi Denise,
    Fun stuff, isn’t it? I find it not only a great way to express yourself, but also a great way to loosen up and get in touch with your subject. Here is a link to an image similar to your first image that is made up of three images…lichen on a log, a straight forest shot and then a zoom shot of the same forest. Of course, I may have played with the hue a wee bit :)

    http://www.bkhaleyphotography.com/catalog/proddetail.php?prod=LEBurstingForth%3CB%3E

  2. Greetings Denise:
    I really like the blur, now why can’t I do that…humm maybe more practice?
    The second has a more dramatic feel to it, maybe because of the red.

  3. Hi Denise,
    These are nice examples of camera movement blurs. I like the uniformity of the first one especially. I found in working with Tony Sweet, and others, and doing a lot of experimenting over the last few years, that it takes a lot of experimenting and practice, to come up with something really special. It is fun to experiment, and I end up deleting hundreds of images before finding something of interest.
    Before I went to your blog, I was editing more images from last fall in N.H. I deleted dozens of blurs, and worked on 1 that I actually liked. I will have to finish it, and post it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

