HDR Heaven Workshop

23Aug09

This weekend I participated in an HDR (High Dynamic Range) photo workshop. Led by the very talented Tony Sweet, we shot at Eastern State Penitentiary in Philly. I had a great time, got to meet Tony and some other nice folks, and learned a thing or two. The highlight for me is coming away with some captures I really like and some new HDR techniques to make them even better. I will be busy processing over the next few days and will be presenting more in upcoming posts. Below is one I am most happy with so far. The others in the workshop didn’t see this room and wished they had. But then, they had a few that I wished I had noticed too. That made sharing them at the critique even more fun.

'Seating Available' © Denise Bush

'Seating Available' © Denise Bush



8 Responses to “HDR Heaven Workshop”

  1. WOW !!! Amazing. I love it Denise. It looks like you did really well. I can’t wait to see more of your images. I’m curious as to how you processed this. Isn’t Tony a blast? What a great guy, and teacher. I have to make it down to ESP, maybe later this year.

  2. 2 Terry Wilson

    This is really a neat shot! I think it would be even better with some strong vignetting added. It would really bring focus to the shaft of light. That’s my biggest complaint about HDR. I think you really need dark values to bring attention to the bright areas. Just my opinion.

  3. 3 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for your comments!

    Actually Terry, there is a darkened vignette on this image. The before and after were quite noticeable but I guess you had to be there.

    Hey Jeff! Tony says, ‘hi’ back. Whenever you want to go to ESP, I’m ready and only an hour away. I will email.

  4. 4 Jeff Quattrone

    This set’s a scene for a story for me, and the HDR enhances that quality. One of the things that appeals to me about HDR is how it adds another dimension to photos while keeping them in a realist frame of reference.

    I’m excited for you and this process.

  5. WOW… Great images Denise !

  6. I L O V E these shots D! I can see all kinds of things in these. What exactly is High Dynamic Range?

    • 7 denisebushphoto

      Thanks for the comments!

      To answer your question Sandy … High Dynamic Range occurs in a scene that has both dark shadows and bright highlights. If you expose for detail in the shadows then the highlights get blown out. If you expose for the highlights then you lose detail in the shadows. Shooting HDR solves the problem and captures all the detail your eye sees. One exposure in the camera cannot accomplish this in situations where there is extreme lighting. So, the technique involves shooting several exposures and then blending them using software. (I use Photomatix.) The look isn’t appropriate for everything but the prison is a perfect place for this technique.

  7. Interesting, thanks. Do you use bracketing?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 690 other followers

