Catskill Experience

07Nov10

I have so many Catskill images to show I decided to include them all in one giant post. These were taken during a 3-day period … scouting locations on Friday, the actual Saturday tour and some group locations on Sunday. Shot in the Northern Catskills, this was my third time leading the tour. I’ve led one in the Spring, one in the Winter and this, my first Fall tour is by far my favorite. I think we hit the foliage just right. It was slightly past peak in some of the high locations, and before peak in some of the lower areas. Where the color was just right it was absolutely gorgeous!

'Willow by the Lake' © Denise Bush

'Clearing Storm Clouds' © Denise Bush

"Autumn Mountain Reflection' © Denise Bush (Available on istock!)

Rainbow Beyond the Birch Tree © Denise Bush

Olana's Bright Side' © Denise Bush

'Hudson View' © Denise Bush

'Distant Vineyard' © Denise Bush

'Bridge Over the Hudson River' © Denise Bush

'Twin Trees in Autumn' © Denise Bush

'Hay Bails in the Pasture' © Denise Bush

'Autumn Pagoda' © Denise Bush

'100 Arhats' © Denise Bush

'Bastion Falls II' © Denise Bush

'Bastion Falls I' © Denise Bush

'South Lake Sunset' © Denise Bush

'Red Tree in the Forest' © Denise Bush

'Above Platekill' © Denise Bush

'Catskill Cascade' © Denise Bush

'Artists Falls Footbridge' © Denise Bush

'Artists Falls' © Denise Bush



15 Responses to “Catskill Experience”

  1. Great shots. The colors are great and you did a great job of capturing the quality of the light in the scenes – something I have had trouble with.

    I have a list of places I want to visit and photograph – it now has a new entry. :-)

  2. Beautiful as always. Must have really been a great trip.

  3. Love the autumn treatment of the pagoda, and all the falls with the leaves scattered around them. Nice to see it in the fall after seeing it in winter and spring. Have to go up next fall.

  4. 4 Linda Kamholz

    Denise,
    Thanks for showing us some of the beauty of the season not all that far from our own backyard. Nicely framed shots of the waterfalls. I guess my favorite is the Rainbow Beyond the Birch. Unusual composition and the rainbow, well it’s just the icing on the cake!

  5. Amazing. You just keep getting better.
    Time to quit the day job?

  6. 6 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for the kind critiques everyone. Jeff — I was laid-off last Dec. so I don’t have a day job to quit!

  7. Sorry to hear that. Start selling your work, if you haven’t already.

  8. My favorite of the series is ‘Distant Vineyard’. It has a mystical touch to it and and I think it would make a great print.

  9. These photos are wonderful sis! :-D SO MANY nice ones, it’s impossible for me to pick a favorite. These and your other various shots of the Catskills would make an awesome calendar!

  10. 10 Roger Williamson

    Wow, those Catskill photos are great! +1 on the calendar suggestion.

  11. 11 denisebushphoto

    Thanks everyone. I was especially pleased with the Catskill photos. It was my 6th time up there. I like being able to go back to a place in different light and times of the year. We hit the Fall color just right.

    Every year around this time I think about doing a calendar. Problem is, like now, I have several other things on my ‘to do’ list and then it’s too late.

  12. Hi Denise. Some wonderful images. Wish I could have made the trip. I have to stop at one of the South Jersey meetings. Take care … Ray.

  13. 13 denisebushphoto

    Thanks Ray! Yes — you should come to an SJCC meeting and the next Catskill trip too.

  14. 14 LJ Meyers

    Hi Denise. What a lovely gallery. You’ve gotten very good. James. http://www.pbase.com/photodocsj

  15. 15 Ken Henriques Jr.

    Hi Denise. Sorry I will miss the Winter shoot in the Catskills as I enjoyed the Spring and Fall sessions. Your work is just beautiful and always an inspiration to me and I will be back soon. Hopefully I will be able to take some lessons from you in the Spring. I was able to get a new Canon 5D Mark 2 so I’ll be ready for the next trip. thanks for the help also. Ken Henriques Jr.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 715 other followers

