Fooling Around

06Jan11

Not yet wanting to get down to business, I couldn’t let the season pass without making my annual trip to Longwood Gardens. On this day, tripods were only allowed indoors until 1:00 so I spent much of the morning in the conservatory with my tripod, carefully lining up my shots and scrutinizing over my settings. Before I knew it, it was time to take the tripod back to the car. I decided to leave my camera bag there too and just bring the camera with my recently acquired 50mm f/1.4 lens mounted. (This is Canon’s more affordable 50mm lens as compared to the f/1.2 model.) I felt unencumbered without the heavy bag, tripod and big lens. I enjoyed walking the grounds and shooting hand-held. I kept the aperture on f/1.4 to test out the reason I bought the lens in the first place and had a lot of fun making the following images. I think it’s a good idea to take a break and just ‘fool around’ every once in in a while!

'One Way Up' © Denise Bush

'Retro Dream' © Denise Bush

'Linear Abstract' © Denise Bush



5 Responses to “Fooling Around”

  1. Denise I love the Linear Abstract – really cool!

  2. Hi Denise. Pretty refreshing images. It is nice to play and these came out great. I have the Nikon 50 1.4. It’s one of my favorite lenses

  3. 3 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking!

  4. 4 Bonnie

    These are wonderful. The colors are so vibrant. Glad you had fun!

  5. WOW, Glad to see you broke out of the box!
    Awesome work, let the creativity flow. You have it within you.
    It will be a great year for you Moon-child.
    Cheers !


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers

