Inside Fonthill

07Jul12

In May I had the opportunity to shoot inside Fonthill Castle in Doylestown, PA. Photography inside is not normally allowed however photographer and workshop leader, John Barclay graciously invited me when he had an opening in a shoot he had planned with Tony Sweet and a few friends. I had been there a little over a year ago and took the tour but could only shoot outside. The castle and its history are fascinating. It was built by Henry Chapman Mercer who began construction in 1908 at the age of 52 during the American Arts & Crafts Movement. He completed the reinforced concrete building in 1912, and used it as his residence. This was not a workshop but both John and Tony were helpful in pointing out some good shots. The rooms were small and I approached the session the same way that I shoot at Eastern State Prison … a wide angle lens, and bracketed exposures on a tripod. I had no trouble finding things to shoot. For me, the hard part came when processing the images. The textured walls are on strange angles, crooked and curved and the castle is busy with detail; tile patterns and framed prints everywhere. Many of the  images were just too busy for my liking. Below I’ve posted a small collection of images that I am pleased with from what was both a fun day and good learning experience.

‘The Main Room’ © Denise Bush

‘Family Skeleton’ © Denise Bush

‘Ready For Supper’ © Denise Bush

‘Upstairs, Downstairs’ © Denise Bush

‘Little Lamp’ © Denise Bush

‘Thru The Closed Door’ © Denise Bush

‘Tonics & Such’ © Denise Bush

‘Traveling Cases’ © Denise Bush

‘To The Balcony’ © Denise Bush

‘Two Jugs & A Crock’ © Denise Bush



15 Responses to “Inside Fonthill”

  1. Fascinating place. You did a great job processing the images. They are all clear and well exposed not to mention the compositions are wonderful.

  2. 2 MikeP

    You are right about not being able to shoot indoors unless you are granted the keys to the kingdom…. well blended work. Really, really… did I say really enough times……like your skull and books. Fascinating pic!!!!

  3. Well done Denise. I love them all, especially the family Skelton.

  4. 4 Linda Kamholz

    These images are great, Denise — really give a sense of place. I think they are among your very best HDRs. Looks like you had a wonderful, productive day.

  5. Great series Denise, I really like “To the Balcony”!!!!

  6. WOW!! How Awesomely cool! Looks like something out of a Harry Potter movie! I’ve got goosebumps! Happy Birthday week sister!!

  7. 7 Diane Morton

    These are terrific Denise! It looks like an amazing place….

  8. 8 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking and leaving comments everyone!

  9. Terrific body of images! Very well done.

  10. 10 Cathie

    I am such a fan of textures…this has to be one of my favorite series from you. Very nice!

  11. 11 Deb

    Wow! These are great…I love all of them! I would love to be able to shoot this place!

  12. Thanks everyone! Now that you have encouraged me, maybe I’ll process a few more!

  13. It’s going to be ending of mine day, but before ending I am reading this impressive piece of writing to improve my experience.

  14. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be
    ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

    • Thank you for checking out my blog. This is an older post. To see the most recent postings click on the ‘Denise Bush’s Photo Blog’ at the top. I don’t do Twitter but you can sign up to follow the blog … see upper right column.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 692 other followers

