Rusty Things & Abandoned Places

24Nov13

Finding a Niche
I recently gave a photography lesson to someone who was trying to figure out just ‘what’ to take pictures of. This got me me thinking about ‘finding a niche’. For me I knew early on that my favorite subjects were landscapes, nature and things from the past. These are the subjects my fine art photography portfolio is full of … the things that I keep going back to time, and time again. Recognizing that I had a fondness for these subjects did not stop me from exploring many other subjects and forms of photography over the years. Having the patience to find your niche is important … I don’t think it can be forced. My advice to those who might be searching for a direction would be to explore it all and what you love will rise to the surface all on its own. These days, feeling less of a need to photograph it all, I am more content that the things I was drawn to from the very beginning of making photographs are indeed ‘my niche’.

'Left Behind'  © Denise Bush

‘Left Behind’ © Denise Bush

'Greenhouse Resident'  © Denise Bush

‘Greenhouse Resident’ © Denise Bush

'Recycled Shack'  © Denise Bush

‘Recycled Shack’ © Denise Bush

'Writing On The Wall'  © Denise Bush

‘Writing On The Wall’ © Denise Bush

'Doorways From The Past'  © Denise Bush

‘Doorways From The Past’ © Denise Bush

'Silo In Black & White'  © Denise Bush

‘Silo In Black & White’ © Denise Bush

'Around The Corner'  © Denise Bush

‘Around The Corner’ © Denise Bush

'Lost In The Woods'  © Denise Bush

‘Lost In The Woods’ © Denise Bush

'Old Coop'  © Denise Bush

‘Old Coop’ © Denise Bush

'Blue Chair'  © Denise Bush

‘Blue Chair’ © Denise Bush



45 Responses to “Rusty Things & Abandoned Places”

  1. You certainly do excel in your niche. Great photos, Denise. I look forward to your next posting.

  2. 2 Deb

    Yup, nothing better than old stuff! – love the collection.

  3. 3 brent bush

    As always amazing shots. The wash tub and chair shot really grabbed me.

  4. 4 Kathleen

    All are great but I really like the Chair!!!

  5. Great comments and excellent advice for all photographers.

  6. These images of yours captured our wonderful weekend perfectly. I was thinking to myself as everyone waited their turn to take a picture of the chair just how funny it is that we travel hours to find a treasure like that old chair. I love the entire collection. A do again area for sure. Lets go!

  7. I enjoyed them all but Greenhouse Resident was particularly arresting. The “resident” is fun but it’s the juxtaposition of the broken frame and its lines vs. the lines of the greenhouse glass frames, and the tunnel effect of it all.

  8. 8 Virginia rice

    Your collection evokes feelings for the past…just wonderful.

  9. Thanks to everyone above for visiting my blog to see my latest work and then taking the time to leave a comment!

  10. Denise, you have a way of making “junk” from the past art for today. It is obvious that you really feel deeply for the old objects and buildings that you photograph and you do their histories justice. Your words about photographers finding their niche are so important. Thanks for sharing them, and these photographs.

  11. Awesome pictures!

  12. Enjoyed this series – great locations and captures.

  13. Love your photos!! Beautiful! I, too, like aged things.

  14. Very neat photos – like way old things look when they have a little HDR or texture added to them (in moderation) like you’ve done here.

  15. Excellent photos. Great blog

  16. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Denise, and yes, it’s so true to find your niche. Love what you said about not needing to photograph it all :) – that really resonates with me! Beautiful images — the silo is my favorite!

  17. I love your passion, old things. Wonderful to see through your eye. I can see the joy photography brings you!

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. I really appreciate that others see and enjoy my vision. You are right … photography brings me joy!

  18. Beautiful composition (as always) and lovely subjects!

  19. Awesome shots! I really loved the silo and rusty old car.

    • Thank you! I enjoy hearing which might be favorites. A couple of people have like the silo. The car is one of my favorites from the group.

  20. Wow ! Your images are awesome ! I’m so happy that I took the time to stop by and visit. You’re right about taking your time to find one’s niche. I did as you, spent the time shooting a wide variety of subjects and techniques and finally also landed where you are – nature, wildlife and historical sites. Thanks for your visit and looking forward to sharing more with you in the future.

  21. Denise — Thanks for visiting and for the kind comments. I’ve spent a wonderful bit of time looking through your photos. Wonderful work, and the ADK images really took me back to my old stopping grounds. Subscribed now, gladly.

  22. These all strike a cord with me and I’d be happy to have taken any of them. Before birds and birding dominated my photography 40 years ago I did a lot of the same type subjects, mostly in B&W. If you have access to old copies of NJ Outdoors magazine you can see an essay I published there on Fort Hancock a the northern tip of Sandy Hook, NJ, called “Off Limits.”

  23. Nice pictures! I especially like ‘Greenhouse Resident’ and the black and whites…

    I agree wholeheartedly with your message: having a niche is important, but the best way to find is to explore and experiment. Keep trying new things, and the things you keep coming back to… well, that’s your niche!

  24. your images on this post are absolutely fantastic!! my favourite – the green house resident, the composition is fabulous!

  25. I like that silo shot, I’ve never seen anything like that anywhere else.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

