My 200th Post – Sunset Dream

21Apr14

I suppose it is just another number but this post is my 200th and I felt I should make note of it! I started blogging in January 2009 as a way to display my photographs and express my thoughts about photography. Acting as a photo journal; I can scroll through and see where I’ve been, what I’ve done and where I’m headed. But the best part has been the ability to share what I am doing with others. Posts have often opened up welcome and interesting discussion in the comments area and I have made new friends through blogging. So, in celebration of my 200th post, I’d like to thank you if you are reading this! Special thanks to my followers and those who have taken the time to leave encouraging words. That encouragement has meant a lot to me over the years.

Now, feeling a bit retrospective I’d like to share the image below and how I was feeling when I made it. One of the bigger challenges of late has been in achieving a landscape image I could get excited about … something as good as, or better than favorites that have come before. I have been out with my camera numerous times lately; sunrise, sunset, scouting, looking, and trying without the level of success I was looking for. The weather, the light, the sky, my timing, just wasn’t coming together and with the added challenges of photographing New Jersey’s Pine ‘Barrens’ I was getting discouraged. Than this … finally, the moment I had been hoping for. My discouragement vanished completely as the sunset reached its peak color and I heard someone across the lake yell … ‘thank you God’! It was the most beautiful sunset I had ever seen. No contrails and no Photoshop necessary. Yes, ‘thank you God’. It was just the gift I needed to lift my spirits and help me celebrate this personal photographic milestone!

Sunset Dream I

‘Sunset Dream I’ © Denise Bush
Prints For Sale at Fine Art America (link top right)

 



62 Responses to “My 200th Post – Sunset Dream”

  1. Beautiful and congratulations!

  2. 3 Scott O'Donnell

    Congrats on the milestone and beautiful photography.

  3. Congratulations on your 200th post and thanks for sharing that beautiful photograph.

  4. Thank you and Ralph for setting me on the WP path. There are times I forget its a community, but friends like you always keep me in check. That waiting and wanting is like an endless lure to keep our finger on the shutter button one more time. We … as your followers benefit greatly when you share.

  5. Congrats from me too, Denise. I always enjoy your blogs. Yup, you caught a beauty of a sunset, which hopefully has restored your will to get out and shoot, even if every trip is not a winner.

  6. Great Sunset, Denise. And although I feel like a latecomer to the party (having encountered you for the first time today)–congratulations on your 200th blog post. But I’ll be back; I’m heading for the “Follow” button right after I hit “Post Comment” below.

  7. 13 mvobsession

    Congratulations on post #200.

  8. I can’t think of a better way to celebrate a milestone – or Earth Day for that matter – than a beautiful sunset. Gorgeous.

  9. 17 Rich Proctor

    Lovely photo to commemorate this milestone. Congrats!

  10. Congratulations for the anniversary!!

    This 200th post is stunningly beautiful.

  11. Congratulations on #200 – yes, going through my blog is like a bit of time travel – wonderful journey of life documented. Great shot too!

  12. I was so excited reading your blog leading me to this image. Could hardly wait to scroll down. Wow what a celebration of colors and nature. Happy 200th.

  13. Congrats on your 200th. That is one beautiful sunset.

  14. Congratulations!

  15. 29 Deb

    Congrats on the 200th, your blog and images are wonderful!

  16. Hey Denise, That is truly a wonderful image! I can just imagine how you felt pressing the shutter. I think it’s one of the best feelings in the world and it is sure to be a memory that will always be with you. :-) Glad that you were there at that moment and grateful that you shared it.

  17. 33 Russ Hunt

    Very beautiful indeed. Congratulations on your 200th post. I look forward to reading many more.

  18. Indeed, thank you God! What a unique moment!

    • Thanks Dana. I have attempted many, many sunsets over the years … enough to know that the beauty of this display was truly unique!

  19. Very beautiful photo and story. I am happy to “follow” your blog :-)

  20. Congrats on the coming together of the elements to create such a show! We all know how frustrating it is to drive to a location, set up, wait, and wait, and the clouds roll by, they disappear, the sun finally goes down, and pfftt — big nothing. Nice job on your milestone posting.

  21. 41 Donna

    Just beautiful Denise

  22. Congrats on the milestone post……your words (really emotions) of struggle, frustration and finally triumph and of course the amazing photo! Like you, I also enjoy marrying the narrative and the image. As photographers, we are storytellers, whether or not we write any accompanying words with our photos. Of course, it’s always neat to know what inspired the photographer to press the shutter.

  23. 45 Mary Ann Silvers

    Denise, Pure delight. How wonderful that you have such a fine talent.

    • Thank you Marry Ann! I appreciate your visit and taking the time to leave a comment. And it’s fun to think your message has traveled through cyberspace to land just across the street!

  24. Congrats on your 200th post and nice job waiting out the perfect light! It is easy to get discouraged – especially after the brutal winter we’ve had this year.

  25. Congratulations and thank you for sharing! And as always, the image is wonderful!

  26. 51 Fred Lambert

    Beautiful photo, Denise! Congrats on your 200th post. Keep them coming. I’ve enjoyed them since I joined the SJCC last year.

  27. 53 Cathie

    What a fabulous way to mark your 200th! I love a beautiful sunset. Like my father always said “Red sky at night, sailor’s delight.” Of course these are not his own words since no one in my family has ever been able to stay on a boat for more than 10 minutes without reaching for a seasickness bag, but none the less the words are true. Sunsets like this are a delight to sailors & land-lovers alike. Thank you so much for posting!

  28. Congrats and what a picture, love the little blur in the water and the colors are perfect! Keep up the great work!
    Greetings, Ron.

  29. For that sunset capture I’d holler across the internet … “thank you, Denise.”

    Congratulations on cranking out 200 posts, from one who appreciates the effort that took. C’ya in the Catskills.

  30. Congratulations on the 200 – Milestone :)
    And yes that is a great image – awesome

    I just started to follow you today – so I look forward to seeing more of your work :)

  31. Beautiful sunset and many congratulations on the milestone – I have a long way to go before 200 ;-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

