Colorado – The Black Canyon & Ouray

19Jul09

One afternoon my sister, Gaile, my Dad and I drove in the opposite direction of Crested Butte, past Blue Mesa Lake to the Black Canyon and then on to ‘The Swiss Alps of the US’, Ouray. The Black Canyon brought back memories of a trip my husband (then boyfriend) and I took a trip out west after college graduation. We hiked down to the bottom of the canyon through one of crevices you see pictured below. It was scary and the water was cold when we finally got there. This time we didn’t stay long since my Dad wanted to get to Ouray and back before dinner. The trip to the high elevation of Ouray took us on some very high, winding roads … with no guard rails! It was a larger small town surrounded by tall mountains. In the winter they can only get out going south on the road.

'Black Canyon View' © Denise Bush

'Black Canyon View' © Denise Bush

'Black Canyon & Gunnison River' © Denise Bush

'Black Canyon & Gunnison River' © Denise Bush

'Town of Ouray' © Denise Bush

'Town of Ouray' © Denise Bush

'Ouray View' © Denise Bush

'Ouray View' © Denise Bush



2 Responses to “Colorado – The Black Canyon & Ouray”

  1. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.

    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time
    I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    • I’m glad you like it. This was a very old post. To see the latest click on Denise Bush’s blog at the top and then scroll down. Thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

