Laurel Hill Classics

20Jan10

Now for something completely different, I have posted some recent shots from Laurel Hill Cemetery in Philadelphia. I was fascinated with the the history, the magnitude of the place and all the lavish detail. Abundant in Victorian Era cemetery symbolism there is a lot to see and photograph. I was particularly interested in the statues. Many were on tall pedestals, symbolically reaching toward the heavens. I was drawn to those that were weathered and worn … one missing a hand, another a finger and a mother and child whose identity has been obscured by time. I was fortunate to be there at a time when there was some cloud interest which I have enhanced in processing.

'Hey, Where's My Hand?' © Denise Bush

'Angel on Pillar' © Denise Bush

'Mother & Child' © Denise Bush



No Responses Yet to “Laurel Hill Classics”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

