Water, Water, Everywhere!

20May10

I could still hear the rushing sound of the waterfalls while working on this collection of images shot at Rickett’s Glen State Park. Here I preferred the horizontal versions as they show not just the waterfalls but surrounding area. In an attempt to provide a sense of place I used a wide-angle lens for most of these. The scenes had a high dynamic range from the bright white water to the dark shaded cracks in the rock. I was happy I bracketed the shots (usually about 1 stop apart) so they could be hand-blended in Photoshop. The weather was mixed and at times the sky was blue with white puffy clouds. To reduce glare and make the scene less contrasty, we waited for the clouds to move in and diffuse the sun before we pressed the shutter. To achieve the silky water effect, I aimed for a long exposure by setting my aperture anywhere from f16 to f22 with an ISO of 100. When the light was on the bright side I added a 2-stop neutral density filter to lengthen the exposure time. But, when the sky was darker and overcast the filter wasn’t needed since the reduction in light lengthened the exposure time. What a great place (if you like waterfalls) — I hope to return soon!

'A Place Where the Water Falls' © Denise Bush

'Falls at Trail Crossing' © Denise Bush

'Rickett's Glen Cascade' © Denise Bush

'Silky Water' © Denise Bush

'Twin Falls' © Denise Bush



2 Responses to “Water, Water, Everywhere!”

  1. I enjoyed them all, all great compositions and captures, and thanks for your technical details.

  2. Great info. Lucky me I discovered your blog by accident (stumbleupon).

    I’ve bookmarked it for later!


Leave a Reply

