For the Birds

29Jul10

In this post I’m sharing a few of the bird images I have captured this summer. I admire photographers who do this well because let me tell you … it’s not easy! The first requirement is a long lens. The osprey below was shot with my Tamron 200-500mm lens and the others were shot with a Canon 100-400mm lens that I rented. I wanted to compare sharpness between the 2 lenses and as I expected the more expensive Canon won the contest. Needless to say, the Canon was added to my ever-evolving wish list. 500mm sounds like a pretty long lens but an 800mm would work even better as these images needed cropping to get the close-up feel I was after. The Canon lens had image stabilization but I still chose to use a tripod for optimum sharpness. Of course the birds don’t exactly pose for you either. You need to be pretty quick with these large cumbersome lenses to capture them. A higher ISO is needed to let in enough light for a fast shutter speed to avoid any motion blur. Over the years I have spent quite a few hours at Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge or sitting in my backyard blind working on getting some decent captures. Patience and perseverance are key when it comes to bird photography.

'Osprey Calling for Mate' © Denise Bush

'Common Grackle' © Denise Bush

'Bluegirl' © Denise Bush

'Blueboy' © Denise Bush



3 Responses to “For the Birds”

  1. Nice bird shots D! Of course I love Blue Boy & Girl!!

  2. Crows flying or cawing are never an agreement. That was an omen!

  3. 3 denisebushphoto

    Just a couple days ago a bird expert told me that is a Grackle and not a Crow so I changed the title. A Grackle is smaller, irredescent and has the yellow eyes. Here is what the Grackle tells us: http://spiritlodge.yuku.com/topic/863


Leave a Reply

