Lust for Rust

17Aug10

Why is it that I find old and rusty discarded items so fascinating? Why do I feel like I am in my photographic element in a junk yard or poking around abandoned buildings? I guess I know the answers to these questions, at least in part. I love wondering about who used the items and how they were at one time a part of someone’s life. Things from the past seem to be  much more appealing than our modern day versions … they were made of strong metal instead of cheap plastic. I find the textures provided by time and weather rich and fascinating. And finally, and as I’ve said before, I love the way nature reclaims old abandoned places and things. No longer useful and in their final resting place, they return to Mother Earth.

'Rusted Bicycles' © Denise Bush

'Shattered Past' © Denise Bush

'Gas Tank Graveyard' © Denise Bush



6 Responses to “Lust for Rust”

  1. WOW !!!
    Now you really got my attention. Well done Denise. HDR on the first two?

  2. 2 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking Jeff! All 3 are HDR. Maybe it’s not as obvious on the last because it is smaller.

  3. Love the overall color impact and the broken rear window of #2.

  4. All three are just great!!! Broken window is really GOOD.

  5. 5 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for checking in Ralph and Kathleen. I appreciate the comments and hearing which are your favorite.

  6. I love the “Shattered Past” and IMHO it would compliment your Iconic Ford F250 picture and would also add to a nice rusty collection.


Leave a Reply

