Ms. Bush Goes to Washington

01Apr11

This post presents my images from last weekends South Jersey Camera Club trip to DC. We arrived at our hotel in Arlington on Friday afternoon where we were free to explore on our own until we met up with our leader and others in our group of twelve. My travel companion and I took a walk over to Georgetown University where we warmed up our cameras on the architecture, cherry blossoms and rowers on the Potomac. After a group dinner we purchased our Metro tickets and went to the Capitol for a night shoot. The combination of clouds and light pollution transformed the sky into an odd reddish hue. It was windy so a Capitol reflection in the pool was not possible but I do like the water movement that was captured. An f stop of 16 (or near that) transformed every light into a starburst. The next morning we got out early, so early in fact the Metro was not quite ready for us. After a short wait and ride among thousands of fit runners participating in a marathon that day we landed at the tidal basin. The early morning sun warmed the Jefferson Memorial and lit up the cherry trees along the banks. For lunch we headed to Union Station where I photographed some interesting architectural elements. After a short break back at the hotel we took the Metro to Arlington Cemetery where we bought trolley tickets to cover some ground quickly since it was getting late. Here I passed up on the opportunity to join the crowd and see the changing of the guard so I could get a few shots in before closing. After dinner that night a few of us went on an interesting ride to find the site of the Netherland’s Carillion where we could see the Lincoln Memorial, Washington Memorial and the Capitol Building all lined up. This was our last DC location. In the morning we headed out and stopped on the Virginia side of the Great Falls on the Potomac. It was a fun time with a great group which left me wondering when I might be able to go back … there is so much to see and do … and shoot!

'Red Sky Over the Capitol' © Denise Bush

'Capitol Illuminated' © Denise Bush

'Jefferson Memorial Thru Cherry Trees' © Denise Bush

'Helen's Cherry Trees' © Denise Bush

'Arlington' © Denise Bush

'Amphitheater Light & Shadow' © Denise Bush

'All Lined Up' © Denise Bush



6 Responses to “Ms. Bush Goes to Washington”

  1. 1 Mike Pillows

    Hey Denise….great post and even greaterer pics. I really all the ones you chose and it was hard to pick a fav…. which is saying something for the ones you presented. After viewing them again. The Light and Shadow and also the last all 3 lined up did it for me.
    Be curious to see the Light and Shadow in B/W with a Denise flavor to it🙂

    Good to see everyone had a Fantastic time!!!

  2. 2 Gloria Callighan

    Hi Denise: I am a long time friend of Season Bonner. She passed your Blog onto me and I have to say, I am truly amazed at the beauty of your pictures. I don’t share the same enthusiasm for photography as Season does but I love looking at her work and others. I find great enjoyment, pleasure and awakenings when I see certain work pictures. Never being in DC personally, I never saw the Capitol building in such distinct, finely detailed and beautiful in color such as what you shot. I also enjoyed the black and white as well. That tree trunk took my breath away with the cherry blossoms. Please feel free to send me more of your pictures if you don’t mind. I’m really hoping Season can one day fulfill the goal she is trying to reach with her photography. I give her my comments on what she’s done so far with her work at home and some of it is pretty spectacular, but she always disagrees. I’m glad that she gets honorable mentions at your club. I hope all of the photographers in your club keep loving and enjoying the creation of the world through your lens. Keep Photoging!

  3. 3 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking and taking the time to post your comments.

    ‘Amphitheater Light and Shadow’ is my favorite Mike. I was on my way to converting it to B&W but stopped when I felt pleased with the slight amount of color present.

    Gloria, if you click on the archives on the right sidebar, then a title within the archives each archived post will open up to display more photographs. You can also subscribe to my blog and receive notices when I create a new post. Scroll to the bottom of the page to see the check box to subscribe. Return to the main page by clicking Denise Bush’s Photo Blog at the top. I am glad you enjoyed looking at the photos.

  4. Hi Denise,
    All of these photo’s are Blue Ribbon winners, but my favorite is the Amphitheater. I love the slight color in it. The Red Sky over the Capital is perfect.

    Regards,
    Kathleen

  5. Denise, these are lovely. I love the way you caught the shadow and lighting in the “Amphitheater” photo. Red Sky and Capital Illuminated are impressive. The color in Red Sky is so warm and majestic.

    • Nice work. The drama of your cemetery image was what I had hoped to achieve at Gettysburg last summer. Not enough tombstones at G’burg. The pond reflecting the Capitol light is nifty. Postcard framing (that’s a good thing) on the Jefferson Memorial, and the Lineup is three postcards in one.


Leave a Reply

