Catskills Spring Photo Weekend-1

08Jun11

Here are some photos from the Catskill’s Spring Photo Weekend I led from Friday, June 3rd through Sunday, the 5th. We had a great group of 15 and were blessed with cool but sunny Spring weather. I traveled up a day early to scout with our other leader, Matt and came up with a few new locations to add to the tour. The photos below are from time spent scouting as well as Saturday’s itinerary of stops which included; a mountainside lake, the Olana State Historic Site, Rip Van Winkle Bridge, a picturesque farm, All Souls Church and Mountain Top Arboretum. Sunday’s locations will appear in my next post.

'Catskill Horses' © Denise Bush

'On the Way to Plattekill' © Denise Bush

'Catskill Mountain Reflection' © Denise Bush

'Lakeside Birch' © Denise Bush

'Garden Gate' © Denise Bush

'Garden Path' © Denise Bush

'Olana on the Hudson' © Denise Bush

'Taking Flight' © Denise Bush

'Backlit Flowers' © Denise Bush

'Rip Van Winkle Bridge in the Springtime' © Denise Bush

'Roaring Kill Cascades' © Denise Bush

'All Souls Church in Spring' © Denise Bush

'Church Detail' © Denise Bush

'Garden Benches' © Denise Bush

'Pond-side Iris' © Denise Bush

'Lupine Close-up' © Denise Bush



8 Responses to “Catskills Spring Photo Weekend-1”

  1. 1 Mike Pillows

    It looks like you had a successful time. I am glad the weather held out for everyone. The hawk pic is stunning and I love the reflection lake. Neat to see some different places. I am sure the group was very thankful to all your planning.

  2. Beautiful photos Denise. I would loved to have joined all of you.

  3. Awesome photography. Love the Church windows with the clouds. Can’t wait to see more.

  4. I love the light in “Garden Gate”…beautiful work!

  5. OK, OK, everybody else who was on the tour….delete your hawk files. All of them are OUT!

    Nice stuff, Denise. Love the field of Coreopsis and the long shot of the church. Looking forward to Sunday’s shots.

  6. GREAT shots sis! I esp. love the garden gate and the Red Tail Hawk. Why did Ralph say they were out?

  7. 7 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for the comments everyone!

    Sandy — Ralph was joking that if any other hawk photos taken that day were to compete against mine they would be ‘out’. A photo of a bird actually doing something (like flapping its wings) is considered more interesting than if it was just sitting there and most of us got several of those. I don’t know if I am the only one that caught the action.

  8. 8 Terry Wilson

    You’ve got some great images there! And a great eye. I would never have thought to take a photo of those colorful stained glass windows from the outside reflecting a subdued sky instead of transmitting color. Brilliant.

    I haven’t processed any of my images except for video because I’ve been so busy. But a cursory look shows me that it was a great trip, and I’m quite pleased with what I came home with.

    Oh – and yeah, I caught the action of the hawk flying away, but it was so lame I think I already deleted it. Also it was not shot with a long lens or anything.


Leave a Reply

