Amber Waves of Grain

23Aug11

Day Three
Up before sunrise we drove to Steptoe Butte State Park & National Landmark which is the highest point in the area at 3,612 feet. It rises about 1,000 feet above the surrounding countryside which is on an elevated plateau. Sunrise was at 5:36 am and we arrived early, in time for the deep orange glow. It was something like I had imagined since first wanting to come here years ago. What surprised me was that the land seemed to possess a spiritual energy that is hard to describe unless you are there to hear the silence. Unique and welcoming, I instantly fell in love with the place. More about the Palouse in my next post.

'Palouse Sunrise I' © Denise Bush

'A Bend In the Road' © Denise Bush

'Butte View' © Denise Bush

'Distant Grain Elevator' © Denise Bush

'Black-tailed Deer' © Denise Bush

'A Place For the Tractor' © Denise Bush

'Surrounded' © Denise Bush

'Circular Boundary' © Denise Bush

'Recycled Perimeter' © Denise Bush

'Leaning Storage Solution' © Denise Bush

'Before Sundown' © Denise Bush



6 Responses to “Amber Waves of Grain”

  1. 1 Joanna Patterson

    These are outstanding, Denise. I love the landscapes and the circular perimeter shots. Excellent.

  2. YEAH BABY…. you had me at “Palouse Sunrise I”. What a fantastic set of pics. Love “Place for the Tractor” and Recycled Perimeter would have taken the category circles hands down … even without a category it stands on its own. Its so nice to see the creativity come from a place we ALL would like to visit. I will just have to live through your comps.

  3. Wonderful pics, Denise. Well done. Wish I could go there.

  4. 4 Terry Wilson

    Before Sundown — love this image!!! Hope you nominate this one (and any others) for Vetta over at iStock. Butte View and Recycled Perimeter are my next best faves.

  5. 5 denisebushphoto

    Thanks Everyone! I’m missing the Palouse (& Washington State) a little and your nice comments are cheering me up!

  6. Hello my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with almost all vital infos.

    I would like to see extra posts like this .


Leave a Reply

