A Wonderful Trip

08Nov11

On our last full day in West Virginia we woke up early … early enough to make the 1 hour drive up to Bear Rocks in the Dolly Sods Wilderness area for some night shooting, before the sun came up. I had a hard time getting it together in the dark, climbing around on the rocks and was not completely successful in my execution. The best, thankfully was yet to come. We were blessed with one of the most beautiful sunrises I have ever seen. Somewhat confined to an area for fear of getting in someone’s way I did what I could from my predetermined spot. There were several other photographer’s there including Joe Rossbach’s workshop group and it was nice to share the moment with my group of friends. Once the sun came up a little higher the sky was overcast with some clouds. We took advantage of the soft light that helped to saturate the red blueberry leaves without any glare. This morning was an extra bonus to what had already been a wonderful trip.

'Sunrise at Bear Rocks' © Denise Bush

'Dolly Sunrise' © Denise Bush

Sunrise, Dolly Sods Wilderness' © Denise Bush

'Flag Spruce On Bear Rocks' © Denise Bush

'Wild Blueberry Bushes in Autumn' © Denise Bush



7 Responses to “A Wonderful Trip”

  1. Absolutely gorgeous shots, Denise.

  2. 2 denisebushphoto

    Thanks Ken. You had some beautiful shots from this location yourself and a better variety than me. I appreciate that I can count on you to look at my work and leave a comment. I did feel some obligation to post more than normal so that my fellow WV travelers could see how I dealt with the same subjects. After my mega postings for both WA & WV I think I am going to be a little more concise in the near future!

  3. “Sunrise at Bear Rocks” & “Dolly Sunrise” evoke the same O M G awe that I sometimes feel with a sunrise over the sea.

  4. Say it ain’t so…concise… come on!!! I love to see what places I missed or that different take on a place I have visited. I live through your comps…eerrrr… or can’t live without them. Really enjoyed your take on a place.

  5. 5 Cathie Bonetti

    Ahhh….all the more reason to be an early bird! See what all the late-sleepers miss!

  6. Very nice, indeed! Your “Flag Spruce on Bear Rocks” is my favorite. This is my first visit to your site, and i’m really looking forward to more soon.

  7. supongo que dedicas mucho esfuerzo para desarrollar
    esta pagina web que es bastante informativa. Felicidades,
    el trabajo siempre se recompenza.


Leave a Reply

