Bare Trees

19Feb12

Catskill Winter Photographers Weekend IV
Trees are beautiful every time of the year and to me that includes winter. (The Fleetwood Mac album cover, Bare Trees always comes to mind.) Living sculptures, each one unique and wonderful. I never tire of looking at trees. Since we did not have snow on our ‘winter’ Catskills trip we needed to find our focus elsewhere. For me it was the falls, the ice, the old buildings and the trees. The trees of winter allow us to see through to the sky and I often like the contrast that reveals the architecture of the tree. I like to use trees as a foreground anchor or in a way that frames the scene. They can also add character and texture to a scene that might otherwise be uninspiring. Trees are a popular photo subject but there are millions of different takes on them and they’re fun to shoot. Here are some of my ‘bare tree’ images that I hope you will enjoy seeing.

To see all my images from the Catskill Winter Photographers Weekend scroll down to ‘Birch Bonanza’, ‘Old and Abandoned’ and ‘Frozen Fun’.

'Bare Trees at Sunrise Farms' © Denise Bush

'A Willow By A Pond' © Denise Bush

'Blackhead Mountain' © Denise Bush

'Beyond The Branches' © Denise Bush

'Winter's Palette' © Denise Bush

'Curly Top' © Denise Bush

'Winter Moon Rising' © Denise Bush



4 Responses to “Bare Trees”

  1. I enjoy the bare trees too and think they have something special to show us. You did a wonderful job of capturing them and the objects beyond.

  2. 2 Ken Henriques Jr.

    Everything you photograph you make look beautiful. I hope to do that also someday.

  3. 3 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking and leaving comments Ken & Ken! BTW — everything I photograph does not look good — I just don’t show those!

  4. 4 MikeP

    Sorry to say photos amaze me… and pics by other people really bring me back. Nice study in the first pic but my fav from this set is “Winters Pallett”.


Leave a Reply

