Misfits

24Jun12

In going through my Smoky Mountains images one last time I found a few stragglers I wanted to process. These ‘misfits’, that didn’t seem to go with my other posts conclude my series about the trip. The only thing missing from the 4 full days and 2 half days of dedicated shooting are some wildflower images. I plan to use them in an upcoming post that includes flowers from other recent trips as well. On our last full day and last loop around the Roaring Fork Motor Trail where the light was harsh we stopped at a little antique place when an old dodge in the yard caught our eye. We shopped for a bit, my friend bought a little something and we asked the owner’s permission to photograph the truck. Permission was granted as long as we stayed behind the fence which did not allow for many options. On our first day a pretty waterfall, enveloped in green peaked out from the side the road and we stopped to photograph it in the rain. Then, one clear afternoon we went on the Foothills Parkway to scout for a sunrise location and enjoyed the fresh, spring-green view. (At sunrise the next morning we learned that this vantage point is much better in the fall … btw.) I’ve also included my token, layered mountain shot which is something I had hoped for with a magnificent sky. (I’ll just have to go back for that one.) In this image you can see the damage the balsam woolly adelgid, an insect that infests and kills stands of Fraser fir has caused. This was quite prevalent in the high elevations around Clingman’s Dome.  On our way home we spotted the old ‘Patchwork Shack’ and had to stop for our one, last, parting shot. Riding back to New Jersey I was a little sad to leave, thankful of the experience and being able to share it with a good friend. The Great Smoky Mountains National Park truly is ‘great’ and I do look forward to going back someday.

‘Survivor’ © Denise Bush

‘Roadside Falls’ © Denise Bush

‘Valley Below’ © Denise Bush

‘Smoky Layers’ © Denise Bush

‘Patchwork Shack’ © Denise Bush



5 Responses to “Misfits”

  1. Wonderful images, Denise. “Misfits” is too strong a word for these; how about, “random pics”.

  2. 3 MikeP

    Damn… I wish my ‘Misfits’ looked that good!! Nice idea to put them together, I could never figure out what to do with them. For now they will remain in obscurity until their quality gets better… errrr ….or my eye.🙂

    PS… love that car!!!!!

  3. Denise, no misfits here. Love the Waterfalls!!!!!

  4. 5 Cathie Bonetti

    Youve got a great eye for textures Denise! I think thats why I love the truck & waterfall pics so much…makes you want to reach into the photo & touch them. So nice…


Leave a Reply

