It’s In The Details

22Aug12

When I visit a location my first response is to shoot the obvious, big picture. Once I’m satisfied that I’ve ‘got it’ I try to remember to move in to capture some of the details as well. I guess we could call these detail shots ‘found still-lifes’. When the subjects are weathered, worn, rusty and abandoned it’s all the better in my opinion! Here some old workshop cubbyholes become a two-dimensional shadow box and vintage, green bottles provide a center of interest. Anyone remember a soft drink named ‘Like’? The other bottle says ‘Braddock Club’.

‘Shadow Box’ © Denise Bush



5 Responses to “It’s In The Details”

  1. Very interesting image and no I have not heard of either soft drink.

  2. I think we as artists are forced to see the details and mold them to create… and your pics are always full of them, whether subtle or right in front.
    errrrr…. never heard of them either🙂

  3. I “like” the image. Fun.

  4. 4 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking and leaving comments. I think I vaguely remember ‘Like’ but maybe I’m making up the memory!

  5. I have to admire the color most of all. The green and red of the bottles plays very nicely with the overall rust. There is art in how how you present the “junk”.


Leave a Reply

