Lonely Silk Mill

18Sep12

Sounding like a travel log, perhaps too I often, I decided to write a haiku that describes how I felt while shooting at an old abandoned silk mill this past summer.  Writing a haiku can be fun because it doesn’t take much of a commitment to come up with one. They are comprised of 5 syllables, 7 syllables, then 5 syllables. The final line often reveals a little twist to the first 2 lines. Aside from my group of friends, I felt as if I was in the company of all who had worked and spent so much of their lives at the mill. I’ll let the images tell the rest of the story.

Sad and all alone,
still hear the factory hum,
only ghosts remain.

‘The Office Door’ © Denise Bush

‘Extra Parts’ © Denise Bush

‘Spools No. 1’ © Denise Bush

‘Tag 4-201’ © Denise Bush

‘Outside In’ © Denise Bush

‘Light To Work By’ © Denise Bush

‘Overlooked’ © Denise Bush

‘Phone Booth’ © Denise Bush

‘1957’ © Denise Bush

‘Cargo Elevator’ © Denise Bush

‘Neatly Stacked’ © Denise Bush

‘Spool Collection’ © Denise Bush

‘In Waiting’ © Denise Bush

‘Pressure Gauge & Pipes’ © Denise Bush

‘Factory Remains’ © Denise Bush

‘Rusty Shoes’ © Denise Bush

‘Red Shoes’ © Denise Bush

‘A Place For Storage’ © Denise Bush

‘Items Left Behind’ © Denise Bush

‘Purpose Served’ © Denise Bush

‘As They Left It’ © Denise Bush



12 Responses to “Lonely Silk Mill”

  1. 1 Ken Henriques Jr.

    Beautifully captured Denise.

  2. 2 Donna

    I especially loved the one that says outside in!

  3. Great post. Made me feel as if I have been there.

  4. I am amazed at how much was still intact here… the tags, writing and shoes. Love the shoe shot. Really nice to see the poem and glad you put in the explanation🙂

  5. Wow and Wow and Wow, I just kept saying this to every image. Wonderful shots and the HDR works really well.

  6. 6 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking and leaving comments Ken, Donna, Al, Mike & JDT Photography. I spend so much time with my images it is difficult for me to objective about them. I’m often unsure whether I like them or not!

  7. Outstanding images, Denise. I love how you saw things that others did not and the special viewpoints that you chose. Your image processing work is excellent. Some day, when I grow up, I want to be like you!

  8. Nice set of photos. It really brought up some memories. When I was growing up my father owned a machine shop that looked a lot like this. You have done a great job with this set inspiring not only personal memories but a glimpse of a mechanical and industrial past in this country that is long since gone.

  9. Loved the scenes and the haiku. Who knew?

    I felt the sadness
    But also heard the laughter
    Where did they all go?

  10. Wowwww stunning location and beatifully captured!

    • Thank you very much. This is actually an older post. I have some recent abandoned locations too. To get to the latest click on ‘Denise Bush’s Blog’ at the top, then scroll down. I appreciate you taking the time to look and comment!🙂


Leave a Reply

