Try, Try & Try Again

26Sep12

Back in 2009 I learned about a broken pier somewhere at the Jersey Shore. Not knowing exactly where it was I went searching for it and finally found it by looking at a satellite map online. It is located at Corson’s Inlet, at the southern end of Ocean City and is now a very popular photography subject. My first trip to the pier was to capture sunrise. I was hoping that something magical would happen with the sky & light. Unfortunately, the first few attempts did not play out the way I had hoped. I knew the location had great potential and resolved that I would have to keep trying to get what I was after. Even the tides come into play since the vantage points became restrictive during high tide. I also included a late day and night shoot in my attempts. My most recent, 6th trip has been the best yet and I think I am getting closer to what I was looking for years ago. Here I used a 6-stop neutral density filter to slow down the shutter and soften the clouds and surf. Note that I have added the dates in the title area of each image.

‘Here It Comes’ 09-20-12 © Denise Bush
Prints For Sale at Fine Art America (link top right)

‘Sand Reflections’ 09-20-12 © Denise Bush

‘Clouds Over The Broken Pier’ 09-20-12 © Denise Bush

‘Piling Reflections’ 09-20-12 © Denise Bush

‘Moonlight Silhouette’ 08-26-10 © Denise Bush

‘Old Broken Pier’ 05-13-09 © Denise Bush

‘Inlet Pier’ 03-21-09 © Denise Bush

‘Outgoing Surf’ 03-07-09 © Denise Bush

‘Red Sky Morning’ 03-07-09 © Denise Bush



15 Responses to “Try, Try & Try Again”

  1. 1 Kathleen

    Denise, these are beautiful!!!! I love the “Clouds over the broken Pier”. Very nice work!!!!

  2. 2 Terry Wilson

    These are all really wonderful! If I had to choose, I guess it would be a tie between Sand Reflections and Outgoing Surf.

  3. 3 Terry Wilson

    And I know exactly what you mean about revisiting a site. I’m always wanting to do that, and hearing you went back 6 times makes me feel better about it.

  4. 4 denisebushphoto

    Thanks Kathleen & Terry — I still don’t feel finished with this subject. I think there’s something better yet to come.

  5. Hey… have never seen the ‘Moonlight’ one!!! I really like it and the b/w outgoing ocean. I do not revisit, hardly at all in my photography. I do a lil where I live I guess because its convenient. I keep hearing from many instructors that they revisit many times and at diff times of the year as you did. Hmmm… might be something in that trend of thought 🙂

  6. Your photos are stunning, Denise. All that extra effort is paying off. I don’t know what you feel would be the perfect shot because I think you are already there.

  7. This reminds me of my East Planes Sunrise shot. It took 8 trips until I got it right.
    As Steve would say, “the planets aligned”. Very rare! In any case I would have stopped at “Here it Comes”. Your persistence has paid off. Really like Moonlight Silhouete!. Wrapping up this trip. Going to Mt. St. Helen’s tomorrow, then on to Portland. Fly out on Saturday. Getting road weary.

  8. Nice work, all of them but I’ll second Mike P., the moonlight and the outgoing ocean.

  9. 9 Ken Henriques Jr.

    Just beautiful Denise

  10. 10 denisebushphoto

    Thanks everyone.

  11. Denise, these images are great. This artistic pile of sticks has been an inspiration to me for many years. I love seeing different photographers impressions of this place. Everyone seems to find a different approach and the results are amazing.

  12. 12 Virginia Rice

    I love the serene feeling these photos evoke. Just lovely.

  13. Awesome! Its really remarkable piece of writing, I
    have got much clear idea about from this post.

  14. Your title says it so well. It’s about the open attitude and curiosity photography reminds me to renew again and again. I look forward to seeing more of your photographic explorations!


Leave a Reply

