Splendor In The Grass

16May13

Here’s a fun technique to try with your macro lens! Get out early in the morning when there is dew on the grass and lay down facing the sun. With an open aperture in the f/2.8 – f/5.6 range, focus on one dew drop and shoot away. If you are hand-holding you’ll want to boost your ISO up to compensate for any shake. Take note of the camera settings in the captions.

'Just One Drop' © Denise Bush 100mm • 1/160 sec. • f/4.5 • ISO 640

‘Just One Drop’ © Denise Bush • 100mm • 1/160 sec. • f/4.5 • ISO 640
Prints For Sale at Fine Art America (link top right)

'Morning Dew'  © Denise Bush • 100mm • 1/80 sec. • f/5.6 • ISO 640

‘Morning Dew’ © Denise Bush • 100mm • 1/80 sec. • f/5.6 • ISO 640



7 Responses to “Splendor In The Grass”

  1. 1 Kathleen

    Lovely, I sure will try this Denise. I will have to leave a note for my husband and tell him I am laying somewhere out in the garden so he can come and help me up, hee, hee.!!!!

  2. What a great effect. Just love it.

  3. Love number two. Shooting for fun(k).

  4. 4 MikeP

    Your first shot speaks to me for its isolation quality… I feel I have been schooled in the capture….love it!!!!

  5. 5 denisebushphoto

    Thanks for looking and leaving comments! You should try this!

  6. I agree with Mike’s comment totally. Plus the abstraction of these photographs is so beautifully creative.

    • 7 denisebushphoto

      Thanks Rich! I’ll need to try this approach on some other subjects too.


Leave a Reply

