Spring Color & More

21May13

My annual ‘Spring Catskills Photographers Weekend & Tour’ went quite well. I was thrilled to see that spring in the Catskills was late and a few weeks behind the fleeting spring colors at home. There were just 4 of us scouting for the weekend tour and we stopped along this meadow. This spot is a favorite of mine because you get a great morning view of some of the higher peaks in the Catskills. The gracious woman who owns the property came out to meet us and gave us permission to photograph. We had always shot it from the road before. It was a wonderful morning and I fell in love with the scene. The tree-stripes on the mountains and the bright spring colors struck me as something special. I sat beneath this tree and took my time to adjust my tripod then compose, expose and focus very carefully. This meant I didn’t have to crop later and made full use of my camera’s capability, offering the best detail and quality. I was taught to always do your best to compose in the camera and recommend it whenever possible. Here is my favorite from our weekend, composed in-camera to avoid sacrificing valuable pixels.

'Spring Green in the Catskills'  © Denise Bush

‘Spring Green in the Catskills’ © Denise Bush



10 Responses to “Spring Color & More”

  1. Once again a great shot.

  2. Hi Denise. I thought this might interest you. My daughter lives in the Catskills now (Jeffersonville in Sullivan County). She and her husband have friends Ellie and Akira Ohiso who publish an absolute beautiful magazine about the Catskills called Green Door. Ellie is a graphic designer. Her father is a top flight printer and heads the marketing operation for Art Scroll, the premiere publisher of Orthodox Jewish books. The magazine is now showing a profit after just 2 years. You might want to showcase some of your photos in Green Door, or write something, or be interviewed. Im going to send Ellie a link to your blog. Okay? Harriet

    On 5/21/13 4:32 PM, “Denise Bushs Photo Blog” wrote:

    > denisebushphoto posted: “My annual ‘Spring Catskills Photographers Weekend & > Tour’ went quite well. I was thrilled to see that spring in the Catskills was > late and a few weeks behind the fleeting spring colors at home. This spot is a > favorite of mine because you get a great m” >

  3. 5 Kathleen

    This image is outstanding Denise. I now see what you did to compose this, very, very nice!!

    • 6 denisebushphoto

      Thanks for looking and leaving a comment Kathleen. I hope you got some keepers from this spot too!

  4. 7 MikeP

    You are such a tease… one pic… I thirst for more. Oh really nice comp and yes I try to adhere to the compose in camera as much as poss.

    • 8 denisebushphoto

      I’m going by the ‘less is more’ theory here! There is more to come (maybe). Thanks for visiting!

  5. I love this photograph. It says so much so simply.

  6. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after browsing through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it
    and checking back frequently!


Leave a Reply

