My 12th Time

21Jun13

Looking back through my image folders from the Catskills I figured out that the recent spring Catskills Photographer’s Weekend was my 12th visit. When my friend, Rich became the owner of the Glen Falls House Resort in Round Top, NY years ago I had the idea for the photography weekends, and began recruiting my fellow photographers to participate. The first weekend was in the winter of 2009 and it was led by two photographer’s who live in the Catskills. I had met one of them, Ron while on a trip in Acadia, Maine. The other was a locally known Catskill photographer, Francis Driscoll, who was recommended by Ron. After that first photographer’s weekend Francis led the next couple of tours before I started leading them in 2010.

The Glen Falls House has become a sort of ‘home away from home’ and I very much enjoy my visits. I usually go up a day ahead in order to scout for new locations as well as check on known locations. I have met several kind property owners in order to get permission and my friend tells me I am ‘practically a local’. Each visit is a challenge for me to make images that are different (and better) from previous trips and a chance to capture the same scenes in different light and conditions. I welcome the challenge and look forward to future visits.

Here are some favorites from the spring trip.

'Painter's View'  © Denise Bush

‘Painter’s View’ © Denise Bush

'Bastion Falls Overview'  © Denise Bush

‘Bastion Falls Overview’ © Denise Bush
Prints For Sale at Fine Art America (link top right)

'All Souls In Spring'  © Denise Bush

‘All Souls In Spring’ © Denise Bush

'The Fallen'  © Denise Bush

‘The Fallen’ © Denise Bush

'Bending Tree'  © Denise Bush

‘Bending Tree’ © Denise Bush

'Field Of Phlox'  © Denise Bush

‘Field Of Phlox’ © Denise Bush

'Little Red Barn'  © Denise Bush

‘Little Red Barn’ © Denise Bush

'Phlox Beside The Barn'  © Denise Bush

‘Phlox Beside The Barn’ © Denise Bush

'Posted'  © Denise Bush

‘Posted’ © Denise Bush

'Cold Springs Hotel Windows'  © Denise Bush

‘Cold Springs Hotel Windows’ © Denise Bush

'Sunset Silhouette'  © Denise Bush

‘Sunset Silhouette’ © Denise Bush



14 Responses to “My 12th Time”

  1. 1 Kathleen

    These are awesome images from a great weekend!!! So happy I was able to go!!! Glen Falls House was a great place and wonderful food!!!

    • 2 denisebushphoto

      Thanks Kathleen. I am very happy you could come too!

  2. beautiful photography

    • 4 denisebushphoto

      Thank you for taking the time to look at my blog and leave a comment. I will come check out yours too.

  3. Really beautiful. Thanks, Denise. Harriet

    On 6/21/13 9:26 AM, “Denise Bushs Photo Blog” wrote:

    > denisebushphoto posted: “Looking back through my image folders from the > Catskills I figured out that the recent spring Catskills Photographer’s > Weekend was my 12th visit. When my friend, Rich became the owner of the Glen > Falls House Resort in Round Top, NY years ago I had the ide” >

  4. 7 Ted Harper

    I’ve been on several trips to the Catskills with Denise’s group. I can say each time it has been a different experience. The stay at Glen Falls House has always been a great experience. As Denise had stated you go back because of different seasons, different light and different places she has found. My photo’s have improved each time I’ve gone. You can’t ask for anything more except to make new friends.
    Ted

    • 8 denisebushphoto

      I am always happy to have you in the group — you are a lot of fun!

  5. What a beautiful collection from our last venture to the Catskills. They are just awesome. I might be a little partial to the images because I just love the whole adventure going to Glen Falls House with Denise and everything else that follows.

    • 10 denisebushphoto

      Thanks Beth! Having you join in the fun has been great!

  6. 12th time is the charm…. love the opening pic… I still fondly remember my trip with you in the winter. Great friends, food and stories… many thanks ‘D’.

    • 12 denisebushphoto

      Thanks for visiting the blog ‘Mickey’. I remember that winter trip too — I believe it was the first one.

  7. This has been like attending a class reunion. I think I only made four of the twelve but they were fun and productive. Great memories captured. Biggest surprise, the Buddhist temple. Most fun: walking out on the rocks in the stream bed below Bastion Falls; trying not to fall into the icy water on the slippery slopes by Artists’ Falls (http://bergiesplace.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/shooters.jpg.) Most breath-taking: the view of the Hudson River from the long-gone Mountain House escarpement. Most easiest to forget: the icy-slippery mile-long trail to Diamond Notch Falls.

    Thanks, Denise!

    • 14 denisebushphoto

      Fun to hear how you sum it up Ralph! That picture is from the first trip. I look a lot younger … and it wasn’t that long ago!😦


Leave a Reply

