A Trip Back In Time

27Sep13

A second trip to the Holcombe-Jimison Farmstead Museum in Lambertville, NJ turned out even more fun than the first. This time I gathered a group of 20 photo friends and made arrangements for the shoot. We had special permission to use our tripods which is key here. Many of the subjects are in low light, slowing down shutter speeds at optimal settings. And, being able to make bracketed exposures on a tripod for high dynamic range (HDR) processing works well for this subject matter. I think that often times and for my taste, HDR processing becomes over-saturated. People seem to like it that way (or not). Here I paid special attention to restore the colors I remembered and for my vision, suited the subject matter best. To do this I added a b&w layer then adjusted the opacity to display just the right amount of color. Have a comment or question? Do you have a favorite? Feel free to leave a few words in the ‘comments’ area at the end of this post!

For images from my first trip and link to the Holcombe-Jimison Museum click here:

'Milk Bottles'  © Denise Bush

‘Milk Bottles’ © Denise Bush

'Dentist Office'  © Denise Bush

‘Dentist Office’ © Denise Bush

'Old Time Remedies'  © Denise Bush

‘Old Time Remedies’ © Denise Bush

'Lantern Assortment'  © Denise Bush

‘Lantern Assortment’ © Denise Bush

'Lantern In The Window'  © Denise Bush

‘Lantern In The Window’ © Denise Bush

'The Spinner's House'  © Denise Bush

‘The Spinner’s House’ © Denise Bush

'Cobbler's Caddy'  © Denise Bush

‘Cobbler’s Caddy’ © Denise Bush

'Military Matters'  © Denise Bush

‘Military Matters’ © Denise Bush

'Desktop Remains'  © Denise Bush

‘Desktop Remains’ © Denise Bush

'Underwood Close-up'  © Denise Bush

‘Underwood Close-up’ © Denise Bush

'Old Organ Close-up'  © Denise Bush

‘Old Organ Close-up’ © Denise Bush

'North Pole Freezer'  © Denise Bush

‘North Pole Freezer’ © Denise Bush

'Open For Business'  © Denise Bush

‘Open For Business’ © Denise Bush



12 Responses to “A Trip Back In Time”

  1. 1 Kathleen

    A great trip down memory lane!!

  2. Nice work Denise. Great composition and post processing. You sure found the best location.

  3. Denise, wonderful job. When the blog first came in, I scanned it quickly without reading the words. I noticed how close to real the colors were and wondered how you did that. Then, after returning to look at the blog more carefully and read the words, I was happy to see you told us how you achieved the realistic colors. Thank you. I will try reprocessing some of my images to see how they look.

    I enjoyed viewing your photos, and as usual admire your work! Thanks for posting.

    • Thanks Ken! Let me know how my method works out for you. Of course there are other ways to desaturate but this seemed to give me the control I was looking for.

  4. 7 Deb

    Great job Denise! I always enjoy your photo’s. It fun to see everyone’s different perspectives of the same things!

    • Thank you Deb. I agree it’s fun to see how others handle the same subject matter. It also often leaves me asking myself, ‘why didn’t I see that?’.

  5. Love the dentist office. Great details. These photos tell me I could use more lessons on processing. Thanks for sharing teacher. PS It was a fun photo trip as usual!

  6. Hi Denise,

    This is another fine example of ‘signature Denise’. I particularly like the gas lantern with the radiator. Thank you for sharing and thank you for organizing the trip!


Leave a Reply

