Getting Warmed-up At Schroon Lake

08Oct13

Part II – Warming Up
We arrived at our first destination at Schroon Lake in the afternoon, met up with the rest of our group of six and checked into our B&B. We didn’t want to waste any time so we quickly headed out to our first location, which included a short hike to a secluded pond. We shot there for a little while, warming up our cameras and photographer’s eyes before heading out to find a spot for sunset. While scouting I spotted an old fashioned general store and my friends agreed it would be a good subject. We drove along the shores of the lake and looked for a spot that would allow us to shoot the sunset and found one that included a small beach. The sunset was a quiet one and it provided a nice end to the first day of our six day adventure.

Scroll down for Part I – Introduction.

'Seagull Pond Warm-up'  © Denise Bush

‘Seagull Pond Warm-up’ © Denise Bush

'Adirondack General Store'  © Denise Bush

‘Adirondack General Store’ © Denise Bush

'Schroon Lake Shoreline'  © Denise Bush

‘Schroon Lake Shoreline’ © Denise Bush

'Sundown At Schroon Lake'  © Denise Bush

‘Sundown At Schroon Lake’ © Denise Bush

'Looking Southwest'  © Denise Bush

‘Looking Southwest’ © Denise Bush



15 Responses to “Getting Warmed-up At Schroon Lake”

  1. 1 Deb

    Nice job, I can’t wait to see what you do with the REALLY good stuff!!!!🙂

  2. Beautiful images, Denise. I especially like the sunset images and like how you processed them. I too look forward to the others.

    And, BTW, I looked it up and you are correct. Schroon is pronounced like skroon with the sch being pronounced similar to that in school.

    • Thanks Ken. Well I thought it was a hard ‘c’ but when Nancy pronounced it that way I figured it must be. I am looking forward to seeing your images.

  3. 5 Kathleen

    OMG, these images are so beautiful. I especially love the sunsets!!! You are a talented photographer!!

    • Thank you Kathleen. I just made the best out of what nature provided. Not exactly an exceptional sunset but I was lucky to be there all the same.

  4. Love viewing your images..you always have a nice story behind every shot..thanks for sharing!

  5. 9 Bob D

    I absolutely love the general store, the kind of shot I would go for!

  6. 11 Ralph Berglund

    Looks like it was a good experience. Really like “Sundown At Schroon Lake”.

  7. You must have really loved this trip. What a great place to photograph. Looking Southwest is my favorite of this group. It is so stark and beautifully colored. Not your typical “Dak” photograph.

  8. 15 brent bush

    Very inspiring images Nise !


Leave a Reply

