Water Reflections

24Dec13

Water Subjects – Part II
As pointed out in a comment to my previous post, ‘water’ is the number one, most photographed subject … as a main subject, or component of a composition. I have been thinking a lot about this since my last post. Water not only has an important and interesting human relationship but also makes intriguing subjects for photographers. I believe that water has a lot to do with why I am so drawn to landscape photography in the first place. I find it hard to imagine my living in a place that was not close to bodies of water and assorted water features. The images in this post are from a fall trip to Bear Mountain and Sterling Forest State Parks in New York. The area offered opportunities to photograph beside the water and I took a liking to a tiny island perched just off-shore. It added that ‘something else’ I was looking for so I took my time in making several different compositions before moving on. This is something that I advise students do so I was actually practicing what I preach! Isolated reflections, like ready-made abstracts called to me to capture them. At sunset a view looking east offered some pretty pink clouds mirrored in the reflection of Sterling Lake. Now as this post concludes my autumn adventures, I am ready for all the wonders and photographic subjects the winter season will bring.

Tiny Island I

‘Tiny Island I’ © Denise Bush

'Tiny Island II'  © Denise Bush

‘Tiny Island II’ © Denise Bush

Tiny Island III

‘Tiny Island III’ © Denise Bush

Trees Along The Shore

‘Trees Along The Shore’ © Denise Bush

Liquid Autumn

‘Liquid Autumn’ © Denise Bush

'Serenity At Sterling Lake'  © Denise Bush

‘Serenity At Sterling Lake’ © Denise Bush



24 Responses to “Water Reflections”

  1. You created a beautiful set of theme based photographs from our trip to New York. They are all great but those beautiful clouds over Sterling Lake make for one amazing photograph. Serenity is the perfect title. Looking at the image I’m reminded of the peaceful and calm feeling I experienced as as evening fell.

  2. I too find it addictive and almost hypnotic… just give me any water… drops, puddles, mist, rain …. you name it and I am there looking. This basic ‘hunting’ technique is very evident in your comps. As I study and am exposed to others work, it truly inspires my own creativity. Thanks ‘D’ for consistently showing me the way.

  3. Lovely pictures with strong colors. A lot of inspiration for me. Merry Christmas! 🙂 Jonathan

  4. 7 Kathleen

    Awesome images Denise. I love the first one but all of these are so pretty!!

  5. Wonderful images, Denise. I enjoyed viewing them.

  6. From another water addict, lovely, but especially liquid autumn.

  7. 13 unitedmmcart

    Wow all of them are outstanding. I love the fall colors. Peace

  8. you have captured a fantastic moment!!

  9. I just got finished writing a post about water when I came here and saw this. Truly wonderful.

  10. so vibrant! the last few look like a Monet painting!

  11. Absolutely exquisite photograph series.

    Your blog is fascinating.

  12. Some of the images are like paintings… beautiful work 🙂


Leave a Reply

