Light in The Pinelands

23Jan14

I ventured out in the snow-covered ‘Pines’ this morning … after a little digging out. I just love what snow does to the landscape … its so different and exhilarating! Winter has become one of my favorite times of the year to photograph. With the sun lower to the horizon in winter we have extended periods of side-lighting. And I will tell you, I don’t miss the gnats, mosquitoes, deer flies, ticks or chiggers either! In the winter its more common to have a spot all to myself. This morning I headed down a road I know well and found some nice light at a place I’ve stopped at many times before. The way the morning light was hitting the trees at the end of the now frozen stream caught my attention. Mother Nature did all the work and I was just lucky enough to be there with my camera.

Winter Sun On Trees

‘Winter Sun On Trees’ © Denise Bush
Prints For Sale at Fine Art America (link top right)



26 Responses to “Light in The Pinelands”

  1. 1 Kathleen

    Just beautiful, awesome light!!!

    • Oh Kathleen … thank you and congratulations! You are the first to have a look and leave a comment. Please know that I always appreciate you!

  2. Lovely, just lovely.

  3. What a nice image!!! I’m inspired to head out there.

  4. I figured you were out there, too. Love the scene and enjoyed the commentary.

  5. Another great image. It is all out there you just have to BE THERE!

    • Thanks Al. This was one I didn’t think too much about until I saw it on screen. Yes, you just have to keep getting out there …for landscape and nature especially!

  6. 11 Bob D

    Wow, beautiful vantage point. Luv the contrast between the early light & snow.

    • Thanks Bob! Looking forward to our session together and seeing your work. BTW … that’s ice going down the middle, that’s why it is dark.

  7. 13 davidcollinsfoto

    The subtlety of the light and the feeling of stillness the photograph conveys is great. Don’t really have Winter where I am in Southern Spain and although I don’t like the cold your photo makes me wish for perhaps just one day of Winter for shots like this.

    • What a thoughtful comment David! Thanks so much for taking the time. You will have to take a winter vacation! We are experiencing what they are calling a ‘polar vortex’ … very cold!

    • Thanks Nikole. I am very familiar with Greene County and will be bringing a photo group there this spring. My friend owns the resort where we stay.

  8. So magical – beautiful picture🙂

  9. I feel like I am there when I look at this! I think you have more snow on the way…we do in PA tomorrow.

  10. Great treatment of light.

  11. Wow. I am dazzled by your art.

  12. A gifted photographer! Stunning image! Bravo!


Leave a Reply

