Wonderful Waterfalls

30May14

Spring waterfalls are surely one of Mother Nature’s beautiful gifts. Leading photo weekends in the Catskills of New York State, I’ve spent a lot of time shooting them. The first waterfall in this series however, was shot in the Delaware Water Gap area of Pennsylvania, in early spring. I had been there before but bright sun made getting a good image impossible. This time the sky was overcast so I headed straight to this spot when we arrived and the lighting worked out much better. The remaining images, from the Catskills display this year’s abundant spring rain. I had never seen these falls carry such a huge amount of water before and can still hear the roar when I look at the photos. Waterfalls are ever-changing wonders and it’s fun to see how different they can look with each visit!

Deer Leap Falls

‘Deer Leap Falls’ © Denise Bush

Roaring Kill in Spring

‘Roaring Kill in Spring’ © Denise Bush

Top Of The Falls

‘Top Of The Falls’ © Denise Bush

Spring At Bastion Falls

‘Spring At Bastion Falls’ © Denise Bush



24 Responses to “Wonderful Waterfalls”

  1. Particularily like Top of the Falls…makes you feel like you are going over!

    • Thanks for checking in Marian. Well, if I had taken a step forward I probably would have gone over. This is the top of Kaaterskill Falls, a two-drop waterfall totaling 260 feet in height, making it one of the Eastern United States’ taller waterfalls.

  2. Very nice series – I do like the “top of the falls” shot very much. We all seem to be drawn to the beauty of a waterfall.

  3. 6 Shirley O'Neill

    Beautiful as always.

  4. Top of the falls is great. I know how hard it is to get that going over the edge shot from up there. Spring at Bastian Falls is interesting for me. Different vantage point makes it appear a bit smaller than it really was. All the images have the feeling of strength those waterfalls create. Love um

    • Thank you Beth! There was certainly an exposure difference at ‘Top Of The Falls’ between the dark forest and bright mountainside. I waited for a cloud to cover the sun then bracketed the shots. I manually blended the 3 exposures in Photoshop using layers and masks. I also removed some of the color from the mud carrying water. I didn’t like it looking like chocolate milk.

  5. Excellent, beautiful captures.

  6. 12 Brent Bush

    Beautiful. Love your little write up. The ‘Top of the Falls’ is my fav. You captured a sense of height & the drop off well.

  7. 14 Maggie Beck

    Wonderful photos, Denise! So full of the hope of spring!

  8. 16 Deb McKee

    Wonderful job Denise, I love Dear Leap!

  9. So much beauty…

  10. I do like Silk Water . . .

    • I guess you either like it or hate it. I’ve had a few people tell me they hate the silky water effect. To me the opposite doesn’t look right anymore. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

  11. Sharp, silky, bright colors… what more could one ask for ?


Leave a Reply

