This Is The Golden Hour

06Sep14

Shortly before last months full moon and sunset, I witnessed some of the most brilliant, golden light I had ever seen. The dark storm clouds added some drama and contrast to the brilliant scene bathed in warm, golden light. It lasted a good while before the sun at my back disappeared behind a low cloud. I ran around getting compositions and chose my favorites to show here (which just happen to feature that same stand of trees that were shown in my moon shots). The light was surreal and wonderful, and I kept thinking ‘now this is the golden hour‘.

The Golden Hour

‘The Golden Hour’ © Denise Bush

'On Golden Bog'  © Denise Bush

‘On Golden Bog’ © Denise Bush



23 Responses to “This Is The Golden Hour”

  1. Awesome dark blue and great reflection!!!

  2. Love the dramatic lighting. The second one has many layers. Can envision it as a vertical panorama.

  3. 5 Kathleen

    Just beautiful Denise!!

  4. Gorgeous light! Those clouds are amazing, too.

  5. Really nice shots. The second one is my favorite.

  6. Having been out at the same time I have to agree that it was an amazing Golden hour. These photos really show that beautiful light. I love the vertical and horizontal approach. They would make a nice set hanging on the wall.

  7. Love your golden hour!

  8. These are absolutely beautiful. I especially love On Golden Bog. Magical hours indeed.

  9. Really nice second shot. Could perhaps also have tried an even tighter crop with focus on the reflection and the contrasting blues and greens.

  10. Good stuff, I see you have a lot of talent. Nice writing and inspiring blog!

  11. Impresionante… Muy Buena Serie, Precioso EL Color Del Cielo… Un Saludo.


  1. 1 The Pine Barrens Light | Painting With A Camera

Leave a Reply

