Goodbye to Winter!

14Mar15

I had the same title on a post last year at this time so I guess now it is tradition. In this scene I am reminded how I meant to get out there and photograph the ice more than I actually did. It seemed that every time it snowed the timing was not right or I was committed elsewhere. Adding to the challenge was the record cold temps… the coldest since 1967 they say. It sounds like excuses I know and maybe it is! Now, with the first day of spring this Friday, March 20 I am feeling renewed enthusiasm to get outside with my camera. Welcome spring!

The Crack of Dawn

‘The Crack of Dawn’ © Denise Bush



48 Responses to “Goodbye to Winter!”

  1. 1 Deb

    Beautiful colors and great leading line!

  2. Hey… very nice farewell to the cold…. your shot definitely warms me up!!!! Love that beautiful line, it just leads the eye right through the comp.

  3. “If winter comes, can spring be behind?” Percy Bysshe Shelley

    Yeah Welcome Spring🙂

  4. It’s amazing how a well placed line and the right color can turn a photograph into something magical. I echo your sentiments about spring… Bring it on!

  5. An absolutely beautiful view. Thanks!

  6. I love the mood and dawn’s color on the ice.

  7. I like the meandering course of that prominent seam in the ice.

  8. Beautiful moments you captured, I loved it. Thank you and also thank you for visiting my blog too. Have a nice Spring, with my love, nia.

  9. Getting out to shoot in the winter seems so much more attractive as we approach better (warmer) weather. I’m getting ready myself for another great shooting season.

  10. Very nice image, one of the best examples of a leading line that I’ve seen. And the transition of color from the cold blue of the frozen lake to the warmer tones of the sky really tell the story of the changing season.

  11. 25 Russ Hunt

    The colors of winter. A beautiful capture.

  12. Such a beautiful image. Those colours are amazing, and I love the way the ice draws you in.

  13. Beautiful image that warms the soul – love the lines in the melting ice. Happy Spring!

  14. Bee-yoo-tee-ful!

  15. 33 Virginia Rice

    As always Denise a pleasure to observe your point of view😀 well done

  16. 35 Rich Doerr

    Great composition! Ditto to all above comments.

  17. What a joy to kiss winter good by and welcome in spring.

  18. Beautifully composed image – a fitting farewell to Winter and welcome to Spring.

  19. 41 sil

    Really beautiful!

  20. 42 Karen

    A lovely warm image for Spring. Beautiful.

  21. very nice!

  22. Squiggly seam ready to crack winter wide open.

    Lovely🙂


Leave a Reply

