Abandoned Abodes

07Apr16

Here is a small assortment of abandoned houses and shacks I have discovered in recent months. This subject matter is quite different here in Western Colorado compared to some of the larger abandoned structures I was used to Back East. People who lived here one hundred years or so ago were for the most part cowboys (and girls), hunters and miners. They built their shelters quite simply and out of readily available natural materials. Often times old log structures are just a pile of logs now, easily finding their way back into the earth. But no matter their style and size, I think these abandoned abodes tell a history-rich story all their own!

'Shepherd's Shack' © Denise Bush

‘Shepherd’s Shack’ © Denise Bush

'Footprints In The Snow' © Denise Bush

‘Footprints In The Snow’ © Denise Bush

'Home On The Range' © Denise Bush

‘Home On The Range’ © Denise Bush

'Drigg's Mansion' © Denise Bush

‘Drigg’s Mansion’ © Denise Bush



38 Responses to “Abandoned Abodes”

  1. Well done. My favorite is Drigg’s Mansion. I can just imagine the story
    behind the home.

    • Nice to hear from you Pat! The ‘mansion’ is a historical site. It took 4 years (between 1914 and 1918) to build. It had six rooms including two bedrooms, one large commons area, kitchen, and small utility room. By most accounts the Driggs family only stayed for just a few weeks after it was finally finished.

  2. Wonderful images, Denise. Even here in the east, it is getting harder to find old abandoned homes, but we keep trying.

  3. Winners are Shepherd’s Shack #1 and Drigg’s Mansion a close #1. Very unique!

  4. Wonderful series! A woman after my own heart. Since moving to the upper midwest, I’m still finding the wonder in so many abandoned homes. In New England, not so much.

  5. Such surprises to stumble upon. My favorite is Home on the Range, but Drigg’s Mansion is pretty cool, too.

    • Thanks Eliza. My friend and I are going back to ‘Home On The Range’ when the grass is a little greener. Everything there was pretty brown so I just decided to go with it and make it slightly sepia.

  6. Looks like winter is still hanging on. Whatever the weather, you’re able to capture the beauty of the abandoned. Its really extra special when you find out the history on them. Love the winter skies.

    • Well, when I say ‘recent months’ I mean the last 4 or so! It is spring here but there’s still patches of snow in spots and plenty on the peaks. Sometimes I save up pics to form some kind of collection/story for this blog.

  7. Dramatic, evocative scenes. Other than Drigg’s, they suggest a tough way of life.

  8. I’m glad you found some ruins to work your magic on and make these wonderful photographs. It is the simple little structures that can have a big story to tell.

  9. 19 Linda

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! Great finds…wonderful captures. I can really see human emotion and solitude. ❤️

  10. That is living in solitude.. Just wonderful images.

  11. Wonderful finds, and expertly composed! My favorites are Shepard’s Shack, Footprints in the snow, and Driggs Mansion.

  12. A favorite topic of mine! Great work Denise! Footprints in the Snow really speaks to me.

    • Thanks Scott. There was ice on the trees in that scene but it is hard to convey that in the photo. There is something about the prints and cold feeling that works for me too.

  13. These are so cool

  14. Beautiful photos…The essence of tranquility!

  15. 31 Joe perno

    Love them all, Denise. I think my faves are Home on the range and Shepherd’s Shack. Love the sky. Keep up the great work.

    • Thanks Joe. Shepherd’s shack is close to home and that was the third time I photographed it. You know what the say about the ‘third time’… it’s a charm!

  16. 33 Kathleen

    Stunning images Denise. Hard to pick a favorite but Driggs Manson spoke to me. Thanks for the history on these sites!!

  17. I’m also drawn to these old relics of the past. I argue with myself regarding the ubiquitous “no trespassing” signs that are often plastered nearby. Really, folks, I won’t hurt anything. I just want to look and think and dream and maybe frame a few photos…..

    Yours are exquisite. I like the story behind Drigg’s Mansion. I wonder what prompted them to leave after all those grandiose plans. Illness? Argument? Exhaustion?

    • Thank you Linda. I don’t think anyone knows what prompted the Driggs to leave. They got the land, some 300+ acres under the Desert Entry Act to develop and cultivate the land. There is quite a bit of info on the web. ‘No trespassing’… doesn’t that mean welcome??? 😉

  18. 37 Amy

    They tell great stories! Love these photos.🙂


Leave a Reply

