Trees With Something In Common

15Jun16

For some time now I have been keeping my eyes open for trees that are strategically positioned against the sky. Back east where I am from it was a difficult find since the landscape was fairly flat and often interrupted by other nearby subjects. Being able to see the tree’s structure appeals to me and when the sky adds interest I find it all the more pleasing. Here are a few examples that represent my on-going collection with this common theme.

'Three Trees On A Hill' © Denise Bush (click here to view larger or order a print)

‘Three Trees On A Hill’ © Denise Bush
(click here to view larger or order a print)

'On Top Of The Ridge' © Denise Bush

‘On Top Of The Ridge’ © Denise Bush

'Twisted Tree' © Denise Bush

‘Twisted Tree’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Cedar Tree Sentinel' © Denise Bush

‘Cedar Tree Sentinel’ © Denise Bush

'Aspen Hill at Sunset' © Denise Bush

‘Aspen Hill at Sunset’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print



28 Responses to “Trees With Something In Common”

  1. Twisted tree is my favorite. Awesome images!

  2. I’m a sucker for any great tree photograph so I’m in love with this post. What I also really like is how you managed to either hide or use the shadows on the bright sky photographs. It’s not an easy thing to do, especially in a landscape that you are hanging around in these days. Great post!

    • Thank Rich. I might be doing a solo show this fall called, ‘Tremendous TREES … an exhibit for tree lovers’. I am waiting for the woman to confirm.

  3. 5 Hans Stellingsma

    amazing picture well done !

  4. I love trees and your selected photos! I am reading a wonderful book about an autistic boy who climbs trees everyday…lots of them. The name is The Eagle Tree and is told through the eyes of this boy. I am learning much about trees and autism and the giftedness of these special people.

  5. Love your photos, Denise. I never thought about the difficulty in finding strategically located trees back east until you mentioned it. Keep up the great work.

    • Trees that are isolated against the sky might be easier to find in your neck of the woods where it is hilly. It was difficult in the pines where it is flat and single trees are often backed up by a close tree line.

  6. Beautiful compositions! The cedar is like a giant bonsai!

    • Funny you should mention that. The guy who commented below has a pic of the same tree and calls it a ‘bonsai’ in his post.

  7. Really nice, Denise. Love the textures and graphic lines in these. I actually got the same “Cedar Sentinal” (I think) at Dead Horse Point. https://stgrundyblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/20/bonsai-gardening-in-the-desert/

    • Yes, we have the same tree. Upon close inspection of my full-size image I can confirm it is a cedar tree. They are very prevalent in that area and usually have the twisty trunks like this one. Pinion Pines are smaller as pine trees go but they look more like a normal pines in shape and bark type.

  8. Beautiful series, Denise. ‘Twisted Tree’ is epic! Love ‘Cedar Tree Sentinel’, too. I revere old trees… 🙂

  9. These are all wonderful, Denise. My fave is ‘Twisted Tree’…what an awesome shot!

    • Thank you Vicki!!! That tree has caught the eyes of other photographers in this area too. It is up at the Black Canyon. It is always nice to hear from you!

  10. 19 Cathie

    Twisted Tree is soooo cool!

  11. I love trees too, including bare trees in winter. In England, there’s a type of mistletoe that grows in perfect spheres, making for very compelling winter silhouettes. Bird nests also attract my attention. Anyway, I like the On Top of the Ridge — the thicket in the branches and the way the sky pattern works the background.

    • Thanks Terry. The thing about these is that they are all against the sky … something I am always looking for. That tree on the ridge had a nice little barbed wire fence too. The striped affect of the cloud made it unique.

  12. All are so beautiful, Denise, my favorite is Cedar Tree Sentinel. I love trees too! 🙂

    • Thanks very much Donna! I like hearing which are people’s favorites and when different images are favorites I feel like they all have something to offer.

  13. Wonderful, as always. “Twisted” is my fav.

  14. Oh my it’s so hard to pick a favorite! They’re all so lovely. I love lonely trees, and twisted trees too.


Leave a Reply

