So Long October!

29Oct16

Well, October is just about over and here comes winter! I must say that the month provided a lot of wonderful local color to satisfy my camera and I. Even with high winds there was colorful foliage to be found well into the first half of the month. Planning a sunrise shoot with a friend on October 6th, I awoke to about five inches of snow and ended up venturing out on my own. It was fun photographing the foliage in the snow but with this entry already having a good number of images I’ll display those images in a separate, upcoming post. I revisited some favorite spots, like my reclining tree (several times), as well as some new ones in October. I hope you enjoy the images chosen for this collection … I certainly enjoyed the moments capturing them!

'Aspen Path' © Denise Bush

‘Aspen Path’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Autumn Path' © Denise Bush

‘Autumn Path’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Autumn Alpenglow, Chimney Rock' © Denise Bush

‘Autumn Alpenglow, Chimney Rock’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Cimarron Sunset In Autumn' © Denise Bush

‘Cimarron Sunset In Autumn’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Reclining In A Field' © Denise Bush

‘Reclining In A Field’ © Denise Bush

'Sneffels Awakening' © Denise Bush

‘Sneffels Awakening’ © Denise Bush

'Catching Some Rays' © Denise Bush

‘Catching Some Rays’ © Denise Bush

'Aspens On The Horizon' © Denise Bush

‘Aspens On The Horizon’ © Denise Bush

'Mountainside Pattern' © Denise Bush

‘Mountainside Pattern’ © Denise Bush

'Through The Aspen Trees' © Denise Bush

‘Through The Aspen Trees’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'View Among The Aspens' © Denise Bush

‘View Among The Aspens’ © Denise Bush

'Morning Clouds, Wilson Peak' © Denise Bush

‘Morning Clouds, Wilson Peak’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Roaring Fork View' © Denise Bush

‘Roaring Fork View’ © Denise Bush

'Mountain Highlights' © Denise Bush

‘Mountain Highlights’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Reclining In The Sun' © Denise Bush

‘Reclining In The Sun’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

 



41 Responses to “So Long October!”

  1. 1 Kathleen Lapergola

    Beautiful and colorful images Denise

  2. All beautiful images, Denise. My favorite is Mountainside Pattern. I like how you found a balance between the saturated bright yellow leaves and not making them overly bright. Bright yellows are difficult for me to get right like you did.

    • Thanks Ken. Of course I am always trying to find the balance with regards to saturation. There have been times when I have reduced the saturation but most often I do increase it selectively. Part of what makes each photog unique is where their balance is.

  3. Wow!! Absolutely beautiful pictures, I like them very much. Congratulations!!

  4. Another gorgeous series, Denise. While the aspens steal the show, the golden dried grasses and mountain backdrop anchor beautifully.

  5. A glorious celebration of Autumn, Denise. Fabulous series. Love the Aspens and Mountainside Patterns really shows them off. And Chimney Rock sunset is fab.

  6. Oct. 6th?? That’s my birthday! Can’t wait for my photographic present. 😉 Beautiful color and images. Reminds me of the great tune…”and when October goes…the snow begins to fly…”

  7. 15 Deb

    All are great Denise, Chimney Rock and Wilson peak are my favorites! Glad you got such beautiful color and light through Oct.
    Happy Halloween!

  8. Stunning post… that last pic leaves me speechless!!!! You know the saying “less is more”. And you could not have asked for a better sky… bravo!!!!

    • Thank you Mickey! I visited that tree several times … half dead it was slow to change color. Brother from another mother says ‘hello’!

  9. Denise, I always look forward to your posts, and I am particularly enjoying your Colorado Autumn shots. I am anticipating your Autumn colors with snow images. I am sure they will be dazzling! It’s hard to believe that winter is right around the corner here in NJ, because it’s predicted to be 77 degrees!

  10. 21 Katie Engle

    Another AMAZING blog, Denise!
    Absolutely beautiful 👍🏼😃👍🏼

  11. What a beautiful tree your “reclining tree” is! All the images are lovely! What a fabulous tribute and celebration of October!

  12. It is a beautiful time of year to be in Colorado. I’m glad you are there to share it. What a beautiful set. I can’t wait to see the snow photographs.

    • It is beautiful every time of the year but you are right … especially beautiful in autumn. Thanks for the comment and continued support!

  13. Gorgeous photos! Have a lovely week ♥

  14. Wow, those colours are stunning! Oh how I miss the seasons…
    Greetings, Ron

  15. WOW I very much enjoyed! Beautiful captures, Denise. I see the need to visit your area in the fall one year! 🙂

  16. With trees all along like that, the path feels so welcoming 🙂

  17. Why I love Colorado! You captured autumn in the mountains beautifully.

  18. Oh Denise, these images are so beautiful!! Mountainside pattern and Morning Clouds, Wilson Peak are brilliant compositions.

  19. fantastic colours and pictures 🙂


Leave a Reply

