A Peek At Some Peaks

25Mar17

While out shooting I often use my long lens to get in close to the local peaks. It’s fun to pick out just a section of the vast landscape for a more intimate look at these beauties. I tend to simplify scenes this way … not that I don’t like and shoot wider scenes too. Of course when there’s an interesting sky and cloud pattern it’s all the better!

‘Sunrise Over Snowy Peak’ © Denise Bush

‘Turrets In The Morning’ © Denise Bush

‘Chipeta In View’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

‘Mt. Hayden In Winter’ © Denise Bush

‘A Little Gust’ © Denise Bush
click here to enlarge or order a print

‘The Sky Above’ © Denise Bush

‘Sneffels & Friends After Sunset’ © Denise Bush

‘Far Away Land’ © Denise Bush

‘Chimney Rock Silhouette’ © Denise Bush

‘Gentle Slope Before Sunrise’ © Denise Bush

‘Precipice Wave’ © Denise Bush

‘Mountain Accent’ © Denise Bush



36 Responses to “A Peek At Some Peaks”

  1. I peeked and I like your peaks. Wonderful images, Denise.

  2. Precipice wave is beautiful (actually they all are) but I LOVE LOVE LOVE Chipeta in View

    • Thank you Beth. Chipeta, aka Corbett, aka Sultan seems to be the favorite. This 13er has 3 names while others have none? Locals prefer Corbett. Chipeta was Chief Ouray’s second wife.

  3. 5 Russ Hunt

    Excellent

  4. These are lovely, Denise. Some would make fine watercolor paintings. 🙂

  5. Great series of wonderful photographs. Thanks for sharing, Denise.
    All the best.

  6. Chipeta peaking out of the clouds is my favorite.. Lovely post..

    • Hey Larry! Heard you were back and looking forward to hearing and seeing how it went. I do appreciate your visits and keeping in touch.

  7. Absolutely stunning!

  8. All are beautiful, Denise. I think I favor ‘Precipice Wave’ the most! 🙂

  9. Great series, Denise! Very nice work!

  10. What a wonderful and beautiful series Denise! It’s so hard to pick just one favorite. The colors, silhouettes, clouds, dust ups, and lone tree are among my favorites!

  11. I do so love what mountains do to the sky….and what you do with the sky and the mountains.

  12. So many images! I love Sneffels and Friends After Sunset – the sky colors contrast beautifully with the sharp contours of the mountain.

    • Yes … a lot of images in this post … I had been saving from several shoots. As stand-alones some aren’t strong enough for me but I wanted to show the common theme as well as the diverse cloud patterns. I only posted 2 of them in my store online. Thanks very much for your look and comment!

  13. Variety of beautiful skies and interplay with peaks!

  14. Wow, what a wonderful series! Love the soft skies and ragged peaks. Easy to marvel at!

  15. 30 claireboh

    Beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing!

  16. Stunning. Nature makes it easy for you, but you extract the most beauty one can possibly capture.

  17. I love “Turrets in the Morning” and “Chimney Top Silhouette”. Thanks for sharing. I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress and today’s poem is about a mountain in case you have time to look? Happy Tuesday, Sam 🙂


Leave a Reply

