Lovely Lupines

02Jun17

The lupines are blooming in the forest beside our house so I dusted off my macro lens and headed into the woods. Finding some lovely clusters beneath the trees I chose carefully for shape and background. It was more difficult than I had remembered … wrestling with my tripod height, getting down low and then getting back up! I was glad no one came by to witness my rolling around on the forest floor while grunting to get in and out of position! Thankfully the result came out more graceful than the process.

‘Lupine Close-up’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

‘Pretty In Purple’ © Denise Bush

‘Lone Lupine’ © Denise Bush
click to view larger or order a print

‘Light On Lupine’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

‘Lupine Group’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print



34 Responses to “Lovely Lupines”

  1. Very nice set of images, Denise. The “Pretty in Purple” is my favorite. If you squint in all the images, the petals look like miniature butterflies.

    • Hi Ken! Yes … they do! Lupines grow all over the place here and the blooming time is spaced out nicely depending on elevation.

  2. 3 Deb

    Pretty grouping Denise! I love these beautiful flowers.

  3. What a nice place to live. Love Lupine Closeup.

    • Yes … we are really enjoying all the beauty here. There is some Indian Paintbrush blooming too but I’ll save those for another post … perhaps along with some other wildflowers. Thanks for the visit and comment!

  4. 7 Mavourneen

    Pretty flowers and images!

  5. You’ve done a great job portraying a single subject with a lot of variety. They all work very nicely together, but if was going to hang only one on a wall, it would be “Lone Lupine”. This set was worth all the grunting and groaning.

    • Hi Rich! You’ve made me feel better about the effort! (It would have looked comical to anyone watching!) Maybe I should add ‘Lone Lupine’ to my online store offerings. 🙂

  6. 11 elizabeth jackson

    Really love the Lone Lupine. Sorry I wasn’t there to help you off the forest floor.

  7. Beauty! Love the background highlighting in the ‘Lone Lupine.’

  8. 15 Angela Moyer

    Beautiful! Love them!

  9. These are wonderful, Denise! I do love Lupins, and you have captured this one beautifully!

  10. So lovely pictures!

  11. 21 Vickie Bush

    My favorite color! I’m always amazed of your beautiful shots! Just when I see a photo that is my favorite I find 10 more that are my favorite.

  12. Wow! They came out wonderfully! So beautiful. Lupines aren’t quite in bloom yet here but we are beginning to see paintbrushes!

    • We have some Indian Paintbrush here on the 8,000 ft. mesa too. It’s great that things bloom at different times according to elevation, extending our time to enjoy. Thanks for the comment!

  13. 26 Bonnie

    Beautiful as always!

  14. Beautiful series Denise! I like the Lone Lupine, and Pretty in Purple the best. Your backgrounds are yummy! Nice and smooth. It was worth all the effort, and struggle to get back up. Oh, wearing a backpack trying to get back up is. so. hard! The darn thing wants to push me over on my face! 🙂

  15. Oh, I love them, Denise. The way the vein detail shows in the petals but the background is so soft. I have found them difficult to photograph – so complex that they tend to jumble together and get mixed up with the background. Yours also have a lovely, delicate airiness – they have space, if you know what I mean. And it’s fun to hear a little about the struggle!

    • Hi Lynn! I will usually shoot a few different apertures and then decide which depth of field I like best once I see them on the computer. I guess there are different types of lupine … some are more compact and these do look a bit more delicate. Thanks for the look and comment!

      • Yes, there are lots of different species, and this is a beauty, but you brought that out! 😉

  16. Very beautiful.


Leave a Reply

