Places With A Past

15Jul17

The following images feature old buildings that called to me along the way during the past few months. I like including the landscape along with the buildings to provide a sense of place (when it works). Other times, a closer look is needed … like the detail of an oven some miners left behind or the way cabins line up in a neat little row. I’ve passed by and photographed the first location numerous times but this evening the lupine and low light made the scene altogether different. Mining or ranch, near or far, I am always revisiting and searching for these subjects to add to my ever-growing ‘Remnants & Remains‘ collection.

‘Lupine In The Field’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or purchase a print

‘Miner’s View With Setting Moon’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or purchase a print

‘Miner’s Oven’ © Denise Bush

‘Cabins & Spring Trees’ © Denise Bush

‘Cowboy Quarters’ © Denise Bush

‘Cabin With A Red Pump’ © Denise Bush

‘Little Shack At Day’s End’ © Denise Bush



33 Responses to “Places With A Past”

  1. 1 Judy Hazen

    Wow…gorgeous! I haven’t looked to see what you entered in AAH as I’ve been doing the other categories and Natalie handled the photo entries…so it will be a surprise!

    Happy day Judy

  2. My kind of subject matter. I like that you include the landscape, something I rarely do. I love how isolated each cabin feels. That stove looks a bit too new for that shack, though.☺

    • Thanks for the comment. The miner’s shack may have come before the stove but these buildings fall apart quick too. I am guessing this building could have been used into the early 70’s.

  3. Very beautiful images, Denise. In this set of photos, I prefer the ones that have a background and show their location. Well done!

  4. 7 y9en

    What beautiful photos!! Can’t help but make you feel carefree and peaceful!

  5. All of the photos are wonderful. I really like Lupine and Miner’s View. I feel they really tell a story about how remote the area can be.

    Take care,

    Pat

    • Thank you Pat … those are my favorites too and why I added them to my store offerings! Always nice to hear from you. You take care too!

  6. Nice group of well crafted images. You are definitely in an element that you know and love. It’s interesting how in the dry climate of the Southwest how these buildings deteriorate very differently than the humid East.

    • Not only is it dry here but these structures are also very simply built … some wood or logs and a tin roof. The natural materials seem to return to the earth quicker. Thank you for your visit and comment. I will catch up on your blog soon!

  7. Beautiful pictures. These are lovely scenes.

  8. I know what you mean when the subject “calls” you!🙂 Beautiful compositions, the last is my fav. I love the splash of wildflower color across the middle of the frame.

    • Thank you Charles! I went there again this week and the wildflowers were gone. It is a subject and scene I want to check on in morning light, different times of the year and using different lenses.

  9. Cowboy Quarters’ looks just like the tiny house I want to find in your neighborhood ( : Love them. The image with the Little Shack has so many enhancing layers. Beautiful

  10. Beautiful, Denise. You saved the best for the last!

  11. Wonderful scenes!

  12. I remember being in Ouray like it was yesterday…. your post bring back fond memories especially those mining towns.

  13. 25 Deb

    “Lupine in the field” and “Miners view” are my fav!! Good work!

  14. A really amazing bouquet of images. You really captured a lot with these. I like the mix of color & B&W, which can often be a bit jarring. But you do it so well.

  15. It’s a wonderful series! Those old barns, and relics are terrific subjects. I love the top image of the barns, and the Miner’s place with the Moon.

  16. I love the story you present in “Little Shack at Day’s End.”


Leave a Reply

