All About Autumn Aspens

20Oct17

With autumn being both beautiful and fleeting I made it my job to get out there with my camera … an enjoyable job. Chasing the color here and there I covered a lot of ground. It was the time to shoot … I knew I could process later. Now, being a bit overwhelmed with the number of new images I decided to break it down. Upcoming posts will include mountain scenes, country roads and more but this post is ‘all about autumn aspens’.

Aspen trees (Populus Tremuloides) are native to cooler areas in North America and are commonly called quaking aspen, trembling aspen, American aspen, Quakies, mountain or golden aspen, trembling poplar, white poplar, popple, and even more. They propagate through root sprouts, and extensive colonies are common. All trees in the clone have identical characteristics and share a root structure. They are sometimes considered the world’s largest organism by mass.

‘Autumn Line-up’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

‘On A Hill’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

‘Happy Aspen Grove’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

‘Swaying Aspens’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

‘Aspens In Gold, Orange & Green’ © Denise Bush

‘Backlit Aspen Group’ © Denise Bush

‘Forest Through The Trees’ © Denise Bush

‘Aspen Pattern’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print



43 Responses to “All About Autumn Aspens”

  1. 1 Deb

    Such beautiful color!, I love cool and warm contrast. Swaying aspens is my favorite! These remind me of my visit! Miss you!

  2. Love those Colorado Aspens!

  3. Beautiful photos, Denise! Those bright autumn colours are amazing!

  4. love the colours

  5. Swaying Aspens catches my eye as the stand out in this group. On a Hill is really neat also. Looking forward to the colors we may have soon but I am betting they won’t quite be as stunning as what you have captured.

    • Thanks Beth! Deb & Ken like ‘Swaying Aspens’ best too. I’ve noticed no one is posting colors from NJ yet … another week should do it.

  6. These are eye candies. Fall colors are gorgeous. I like the last twist with B&W rendering. That is a nice touch.

  7. Lovely images, Denise. I love aspens and white birches…these are glorious examples of the former. “Aspens in Gold, Orange & Green” is my favorite.

  8. All wonderful images. Swaying Aspens is my favorite. Certainly is a beautiful area out where you photographed these trees.

  9. 17 Vickie Bush

    My favorite time in Colorado … beautiful Denise!

  10. Beautifully captured! Thank you for sharing the info of this special tree, Denise.

  11. I like the evergreens in ‘Swaying Aspens’ giving contrast to the white trunks, ‘Backlit’ (I esp. love that in fall), and the structural look of the B&W. Nice series, Denise!

    • Thanks Eliza … I like the contrast in ‘Swaying Aspens’ too. I think those are Colorado Blue Spruce. We have a lot of different types of evergreen and sometimes it’s hard to tell them apart.

  12. Yeah…just beautiful images!!

  13. 25 Angela Moyer

    Well done! Love them all!

  14. “On a Hill” made me smile, such a happy, uplifting scene – but the “Swaying Aspens” – WOW! That’s my favorite, it’s fabulous. I love the abstract quality of it. That spot was a great find, and of course, you did it justice. Looking forward to seeing more!

    • Oh good … I thought the one very large cloud made ‘On A Hill’ fun … I’m glad you picked up on it! I have shot but never posted the ‘Swaying Aspen’ trees before. The addition of being there at the right time for the fall foliage made the difference. Thanks as always for your thoughtful comment! 🙂

  15. Beautiful images! Swaying Aspens is my favorite.

  16. Glorious collection, Denise. I love Swaying, Through the Trees and Aspen Pattern- Aspens look great in monochrome. It is amazing that these clonal colonies grow as one organism– like redwoods. Terrific work!

  17. Thanks for the wonderful views of your neighborhood in the fall. Aspens are amazing trees. One thing I was surprised to find is that they’re not related to birch trees.

    • Thanks Rich! I think birch and aspen are both in the poplar family … no? I will have to look that up… you are absolutely correct. The bark of an aspen doesn’t peel back like a birch.

  18. Gorgeous color, and groves! I’ve got a Colorado Autumn on my Bucket List. I hope I get to see some of these Aspen one day. Beautiful images, and compositions!

    • Thanks very much Deborah. The aspen were actually not as nice as last year in some areas. We had a May snow which might have damaged some of the young foliage and then we had a couple of bad dry spells this summer. There were some areas that just kind of turned a yellow-brown. There’s also a disease some groves get. I guess we won’t know which are going to come back until next spring.

      • We’re having the same issues here, but I’m thankful for the pockets of great color, and for Photographer’s like you that find those. 🙂

  19. The are all beautiful! My favorite is On the Hill. I like the simplicity of the lines and shapes and the juxtaposition of the components of the image. I would really like to have this shot in my ‘baseball collection’ of photos. Nice work!

  20. Swaying is my favorite of this batch. Love the framing or cropping or whatever you call it.

    • Thank you Linda. I always prefer to ‘frame’ in-camera so as not to waste any pixels as well as portray the moment that’s speaking to me. I rarely ‘crop’ after the fact unless a bit, to straighten or remove some distraction.

      • Pro that you are. I’m still aspiring. But I have at least been getting my horizons closer to horizontal lately. What a pain to have to straighten those after the fact.

  21. These are beautiful, Denise. My favorite is “Aspens In Gold, Orange & Green”. Some day I hope I can see these spectacular trees in full-color myself! 🙂


Leave a Reply

