Autumn Roads

22Oct17

Most of roads in my area are dirt and I traveled on a lot of them this fall looking for photos. The roads themselves became a subject of interest and I worked on forming a collection. Using a road or path can be an effective way to lead viewers into a landscape. The curves and colors in these scenes made them all the more inviting to me and I hope to you too! Here are some of my favorite photographs featuring autumn roads.

‘Road With Leaning Aspens’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or purchase a print

‘Into The Mountains’ © Denise Bush

‘Into The Shadows’ © Denise Bush

‘Road To Autumn’ © Denise Bush

‘Autumn Tunnel’ © Denise Bush

‘Backcountry Road’ © Denise Bush

‘Road To Mears Peak’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print



53 Responses to “Autumn Roads”

  1. 1 Bob

    Great collection of road photos. The fall colors make them even more beautiful. I love to incorporate roads into landscape images as I think it helps to give the viewer more of a feeling of being there. You did a fantastic job of doing that here.

  2. Roads evoke a sense of adventure, a yearning to explore beyond the point where the view ends and these are all compelling in that way. Nice series!

  3. Beautiful Denise! Thanks for sharing!

  4. 8 Ken Curtis

    Outstanding series, Denise. I very much enjoyed viewing them.

  5. Blue sky, winding roads, golden leaves…they all make stunning pictures. Awesome collection of road photos.

  6. Love your backroads, Denise. And the colors. Great series!

  7. 14 Rich Proctor

    Inviting indeed! Gorgeous work Denise.

  8. There is something about the magic of dirt road winding through a forest. These photographs are sort of metaphor for enjoying the journey as much as the final destination.

    • We have a lot of ‘magic’ here Rich. Until this past year the only paved road in town was the highway going through. Sometimes the dirt roads can be a little scary as they narrow and climb along steep cliffs. I often pray no one is coming the other way because I don’t want to have to back up on a cliff. You can forget about keeping your car clean here too … but it’s worth it!

  9. Wonderful images, and roads! I’d like to follow each one for the adventure.

  10. Wonderful! Each photo tells a story–my story… I feel as though I am the one seeing the scene–exploring and experiencing life. Thank you.

  11. Wonderful Fall stuff, De. Like the graduated heights of the white bark in Back Country Road, a case of color-texture being a leading line. Also like the aspens leaning in different directions in Road With Leaning Aspens. I almost felt that this was a clip from Disney’s well known never-made-but-could-have Dancing Aspens.

    • Thank you Ralph … ‘Leaning Aspens’ is a popular spot for visiting photographers. The curved aspens I’ve shot and posted before are sometimes called ‘Hula Aspens’.

  12. I can feel a gentle wind in my hair and a little skip in my heart as I head “Into the Mountains”, wondering what I might find there.

    • You are the best! I’ll tell you … a bumpy road, more aspens and some old cabins and a log barn I’ve posted before … and then a gate and ‘no trespassing’ sign. Sometimes what’s around the next corner is a bummer! 😦

  13. Glorious scenery, Denise! So well captured.

  14. “Follow, follow, follow, follow, follow the yellow lined road!”

  15. Bravissimo!

  16. Gorgeous pictures. With these sceneries, they are inviting me too. I would love to wander around to see them too.

  17. 34 Deb

    Wonderful series Denise. Love all the fall color. “Into the Mountains” is my fav!

  18. Your amazing photos just prove how beautiful fall is! Fantastic!

  19. Great images Denise. Looks like you had some wonderful color this fall.

  20. I love being on the road, and I love every one of these! It is just so inviting! Really all of them, but OK, Into the Mountains and Road to Autumn may be on top! But that could change. 😉

  21. Some lovely pictures here Denise. I particularly liked “Into the Mountains”. My poem today is about autumn in case you have time to look? Sunny greetings, Sam 🙂

  22. Gorgeous shots! The colors are stunning.

  23. Excellent job Denise. Such a treat to eyes and soul.

  24. These take my breath away, Denise. I do want to go down each road to see what more I can find and see!

  25. Hi I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Google for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more. Please do keep up the fantastic work.


Leave a Reply

