Clouds Come And Go

With this post I’m pondering the movement of clouds. While out shooting I frequently find myself waiting until the clouds move into a scene in such a way that they enhance my composition. Once in optimal position I have to be quick because the best alignment possible never lasts long. Most of all I look for balance in the clouds, and of course, the composition as a whole. Images including a substantial portion of the sky but lacking cloud interest usually end up in my computer’s trash can. Clouds can add drama or whimsy, a somber feeling, or one of peace … and more. Here are a few recent photos where I feel the quality of the clouds worked in my favor. With spring finally here, and more areas accessible, I’m hoping for some interesting clouds to capture, and watch, as they come and go!

Interesting clouds hover above Mount Abram in Ouray Colorado.
‘Over Mount Abram’ © Denise Bush
A pretty pattern streaks across the sky above awinter ridge.
‘All About The Sky’ © Denise Bush
A cloud drifts by where tow slopes meet in this wintry mountains scene.
‘Where Two Slopes Meet’ © Denise Bush
A big cloud hovers above Precipice Peak in the Cimarron Range near Ridgway, Colorado.
‘An Up-close Look’ © Denise Bush
The clouds take on a beautiful golden hue above a rugged, snow covered mountain.
‘Golden Clouds At Sunrise’ © Denise Bush
Last light hits the peak of Mount Abram as pink clouds drift by.
‘Mount Abram Peak’ © Denise Bush
A wintry scene is complete with delicate clouds over the snow covered peaks.
‘Delicate Clouds Over Peaks’ © Denise Bush
Some wild clouds hover above Storm King and The Castle at the northern end of the Cimarron Range of Colorado's San Juan Mountains.
‘Crazy Cloud Sunset’ © Denise Bush
click here to see print options

Published by

denisebushphoto

My passion for photography has rewarded me with the opportunity to examine the world carefully. My approach is intuitive and I choose to impose no constraints – leaving myself open only to possibilities. As a professional designer I am drawn to images that offer a strong composition, pattern and rhythm. Creating images with a unique perspective while sometimes pushing the limits of traditional composition 'rules' excites me. Landscapes, nature subjects and things from the past are common themes in my work.

31 thoughts on “Clouds Come And Go”

  1. I totally agree, Denise. Some people think that in landscape photography you have all the time in the world, but often things move quickly so you have to be ready. For that reason I often find a tripod a hindrance.

    1. The clouds move especially fast in the spring when it’s windy. With one back seat folded down in my Forester I can keep my tripod fully extended so it’s ready. I never regret using it. Often I have the scene all set up and I just wait for the near clouds to move one way or another.

  2. Crazy Cloud Sunset for the win! When I got out to shoot the first place I look is up! Agreed. Clouds add so much. As usual, a wonderful set of images and compositions.

  3. I’m a big fan of clouds. These landscapes are already beautiful but I definitely appreciate the various cloudscapes that accompany them. Very nice selection!

  4. All of these cloud images have their own personality. I really like the crazy clouds. So much to look at and see the different patterns they have made.

    1. They do add personality, don’t they? Yesterday I saw a cloud that looked like Bernie lifting his leg. We are very proud he started doing that at 15 weeks! 😀

  5. Good work looking at many sides now. What drama you caught in “Crazy Cloud Sunset.”

    I’m in Amarillo, Texas, this morning. Yesterday I dealt more than once with what you described: “I have to be quick because the best alignment possible never lasts long.” One problem after noticing an ephemeral cloud configuration can be finding a safe place to pull over to photograph it. As you noted, if you’re already out on foot and notice something shaping up, you can wait it out.

    1. Yes Steve … I looked at clouds from both sides! I hear you on finding places to pull over. Here pulling over could mean falling down a cliff! There is often no shoulder. Thanks for your visit and comment!

  6. Yes, no doubt clouds always add interest to landscape photos, even on those days when we may be disappointed that the clouds take away the light we were looking for on our subjects. As you said, clouds change quickly, especially if windy, so I usually make a series of shots as the clouds change, rather than waiting and hoping for a “perfect” arrangement, then hope at least one of those shots will be “the one”. However, as an amateur and lacking in the more artistic judgment, I might not be as capable of judging which is “the One”, as you. Keep posting those wonderful photos!

    1. That’s one way to do it Ken! I do that some too. I hope my art degree, career in illustration and design and 25+ years of photography passion is a help to me! You are doing great and of course, I’ll keep posting! 🙂

  7. We sure do get some good clouds here for photos! I love when they make the sky either colorful or moody and dramatic. Your sunset photos are my favorite!

    1. Oh yes … we get a lot of them and I don’t go out shooting unless I have a composition without sky in mind. People call them bluebird days and sports enthusiasts, hikers, skiers, etc. love them. Thanks for visiting Neil!

  8. The last photo is a wild one! The mountains look like they should go and hide. 😉 The golden sunrise is very appealing, with all that color and drama, but I also find the subtlety of the second-to-last image beautiful. Clouds and mountains are your constant companions, aren’t they? 🙂

  9. Thanks for realizing the appeal of the subtle clouds in the second to last … that’s what got my attention. That last one is Storm King again but from a vantage point other than our property this time. Yes … I don’t know where my photography would be without clouds and mountains! 🙂

Leave a comment