Very Experimental!

08Jun13

Here are two images from from just one of the set-ups we’ll be doing at Pinelands Photography School’s, MACRO Photography & The Natural World workshop next weekend. This is simply seltzer water and some plastic flowers in a small, square tank. I used an ordinary desk lamp and daylight balanced OttLite bulb to illuminate the subjects and bubbles. Using live view, magnified, I manually focused to be sure what I wanted as the center of interest was as sharp as could be. Then, I set my ISO to 800 to increase the shutter speed and insure my focused bubbles did not show any motion blur as they expand and travel to the surface. It was easy to do and the results are a fun departure from the ordinary!

'Tentacles & Bubbles'  © Denise Bush

‘Tentacles & Bubbles’ © Denise Bush

'A Thousand Bubbles'  © Denise Bush

‘A Thousand Bubbles’ © Denise Bush



9 Responses to “Very Experimental!”

  1. Very interesting and nice. I can’t wait til next week to give it a try. I have never done any macro shooting, other then using long lenses and then cropping in Photoshop.

  2. 2 MikeP

    Snap!!!!, pssss!!!!, aahhhh!!!,….. bubble-lisch-ious 🙂 Now there’s a word that should be used to explain one of next years club categories… and ba-da-bing… just show one of these pics. Hands down no questions asked!!! Love your control of DOF

  3. 3 Bonnie

    Fun stuff!

  4. 4 denisebushphoto

    Thank you for stopping by Vince, Mike and Bonnie!

  5. Very nice work Denise. I love it when you experiment.

  6. 6 Cathie

    That is so cool! I’ve never seen that done before!

  7. 7 Kathleen

    Hahaha, still laughing at Mike’s post. Anyway, cannot wait to try this Denise at the Workshop!!!!

  8. 8 denisebushphoto

    Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment so I know you were here!

  9. Wow, this post is nice, my sister is analyzing these things,
    so I am going to inform her.


Leave a Reply

