Recycled Renditions

25Apr16

A recent field trip to the local scrapyard was more fun than it may sound! About 14 members of our camera club met at the gate, then quickly dispersed among the piles of reclaimed metals, all neatly organized by subject. We had about an hour and a half after closing to enjoy the last light of day. Immediately inspired by the rust and with my macro lens all set, I got right to work. In fact, I was enjoying the close-up work so much that the other lenses I was lugging around in my backpack never came out. Shooting this very different subject matter certainly was a great exercise and fun change of pace!

'Branded Triptych' © Denise Bush

‘Pop Art Triptych’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Filed Away' © Denise Bush

‘Filed Away’ © Denise Bush

'Scrapyard Tunnel' © Denise Bush

‘Scrapyard Tunnel’ © Denise Bush

'Guard Rail Mosaic' © Denise Bush

‘Guard Rail Mosaic’ © Denise Bush

'Muti-colored Wire Panorama' © Denise Bush

‘Muti-colored Wire Panorama’ © Denise Bush

'Scrapyard Circles' © Denise Bush

‘Scrapyard Circles’ © Denise Bush

'Kinky Rebar' © Denise Bush

‘Kinky Rebar’ © Denise Bush

'Rusty Pipes' © Denise Bush

‘Rusty Pipes’ © Denise Bush

'Wired Triptych' © Denise Bush click here to view larger or order a print

‘Wired Triptych’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print



30 Responses to “Recycled Renditions”

  1. Isn’t it wonderful when our plans are thwarted by the unexpected! Great shots.. especially like the tunnel and brake rotors.

    • This was actually a planned event but something out of the ordinary for me as a photographer. It’s good to shake things up every once in a while. Thanks for the visit and comment!

  2. I guess this is what ‘good recycling’ is all about!🙂🍸

  3. Wonderful finds, Denise. Great composition and processing too.

    • Thanks Ken. I hadn’t used my macro since moving out here nor have I shot anything outside the natural world. It was a lot of fun!

  4. 7 Deb

    You must have been excited to do something a little different! Love the tunnel and the pipes! 🙂

  5. Great eye Denise! Would have loved to have been with your club.

  6. What a cool place. I bet that hour and a half wasn’t enough. Great images.

  7. Fascinating! The world of macro reveals objects/items that we would not normally discover. You have inspired me to get chummy with my macro lens again.

  8. Beauty everywhere.

    • I was surprised that the scrapyard was very well organized. I love patterns so it worked out well for me! Thanks for the comment!

  9. Great pictures! I LOVE macro photography!

  10. Nice collection of images. (Suzanne)

  11. Industrial chic! Sounds like a fun field trip.

  12. Now I know what photography clubs in picturesque places do for field trips. I can see compositional techniques being used here that you also use in your landscapes. It goes to show that your artistic eye can even make garbage look really, really good.

    • I already have Missy asking Pat to book a trip to a scrapyard! I’m sure you could find one near you! I am anxious to see what others did at the next meeting. I think most of them were doing something other than macro. One guy used a tilt-shift and shot scrapyard scenes. Thanks for always commenting my faithful friend.

  13. I love what you did with the subjects. Your composition with the macro is superb!

  14. Great little project. Nice work on a theme. Well done and a good exercise.

  15. Sounds, and looks like a fun and interesting outing!


Leave a Reply

