Springtime in Paris (Philadelphia)

16Mar11

Last Friday I had the pleasure of visiting the Philadelphia Flower Show with some of my camera club friends. This years theme was ‘Springtime in Paris’ and the Convention Center was transformed into a stunning Parisian display. I thought the exhibitors did an excellent job interpreting the subject with a variety of creative ideas, from the Eiffel Tower to painter’s studios to street scenes. There was an abundance of tulips and other springtime flowers in addition to every other flower imaginable filling the center with eye-popping color. Everyone’s eye took them to a different location and I lost my friends as soon as we set foot in the exhibit. That was OK as I wandered the streets of Paris with my camera. I had fun shooting the different subject matter and ready-made still life displays presented. It was good practice shooting, handheld with my Canon speedlight. I kept my ISO rather high (between 400 and 800) to deal with the low light and keep the flash less harsh. I used a small bounce diffuser and dialed the flash compensation on the minus side. Here are just a few of many images from my trip to Paris!

'Eiffel Tower' © Denise Bush

'Carousel Horse' © Denise Bush

'Parisian Street Scene' © Denise Bush

'Flower Market Close-up' © Denise Bush

'Lots of Tulips' © Denise Bush

'Funky French Floral' © Denise Bush

'Just One Goddess' © Denise Bush

'Horatio' © Denise Bush

'Parisian Parlor' © Denise Bush

'French Greenhouse' © Denise Bush



2 Responses to “Springtime in Paris (Philadelphia)”

  1. Just lovely Denise.

  2. 2 Roger Taylor

    Very nice Denise, love the colors!


Leave a Reply

