Classic Relics

15Jan17

Here are some images shot in an antique car lot not too far from home. The cars are lined up close to one another and their surroundings leave a little to be desired when it comes to picture-making. I decided to forgo my tripod and shoot more freely getting in close with my seldom used 50mm, f/1.4. This is as light as my camera gets and I had fun lining up my shots without over-thinking it. I played with the depth of field being selective about where I was placing focus. Choosing angles and shapes that looked pleasing to me I filled my card in no time and came home with many images for consideration. I think it’s good to shake things up once in awhile by straying from the usual and this was one of those times for me!

'Rusty Line-up' © Denise Bush

‘Rusty Line-up’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Old Chevy Detail' © Denise Bush

‘Old Chevy Detail’ © Denise Bush

'Oldsmobile Letters' © Denise Bush

‘Oldsmobile Letters’ © Denise Bush

'Headlamp Close-up' © Denise Bush

‘Headlamp Close-up’ © Denise Bush

'A Peek Inside' © Denise Bush

‘A Peek Inside’ © Denise Bush

'Bullet Holes' © Denise Bush

‘Bullet Holes’ © Denise Bush

'Rusty All Over' © Denise Bush

‘Rusty All Over’ © Denise Bush

'Product Of Chrysler' © Denise Bush

‘Product Of Chrysler’ © Denise Bush

'From Carbondale' © Denise Bush

‘From Carbondale’ © Denise Bush

'Framed Antiques' © Denise Bush

‘Framed Antiques’ © Denise Bush

'Rusty Classic' © Denise Bush

‘Rusty Classic’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Plymouth Fixer Upper' © Denise Bush

‘Plymouth Fixer Upper’ © Denise Bush

'Shiny Detail' © Denise Bush

‘Shiny Detail’ © Denise Bush

'Rusty Detail' © Denise Bush

‘Rusty Detail’ © Denise Bush
click here to view larger or order a print

'Weathered Friends' © Denise Bush

‘Weathered Friends’ © Denise Bush

 



66 Responses to “Classic Relics”

  1. Looks like these need re-purposing. You’ve definitely managed to capture some of their past beauty, I have to say the rust looks nice in these shots. Where are all these cars plopped?

    • Hi Harry. Thanks for checking in. These cars are in Western Colorado. Where are you located?

      • I’m in the U.K, pretty far away. In the South East, place called Kent. Can’t think of any places like this around here.

  2. Nice Denise, good to shake things up indeed, and oh boy, the bullet holes?!!

  3. I love the colors and curved lines. So great!

  4. Great photos of wonderful old cars, denise. My favorite is 3rd.

  5. 11 Deb

    Your closeups rock! Love those grills!

  6. Nice way to fill a card. The Oldsmobile letters is a fun shot. The bullets holes create a intricate almost spider webby looking image. Looks like one of those places you can go back to time and times again and find something else interesting.

  7. Astounding, Denise. Your eye for detail leaves me speechless once again. Every image is a work of art. Rust never looked so beautiful!
    ‘Framed Antiques’ is a stand out.

  8. Great stuff! The bullet holes image is fantastic.

  9. Finding these cars must have been like discovering a little treasure trove. Your shoot sounds like a photographic version of a yoga class, remain light and flexible. I love “Framed Antiques” That could not have been a better setup and it is something that only a creative eye like yours would have seen.

    • Hi Rich … thanks for the comment. The lot is along a main route and I had been eyeing it for some time. The owner was very nice and came out to talk with my friend and I.

  10. Love these old cars vey much

  11. 26 Virginia Rice

    Denise, I love old cars. I think my 50 Chrysler was in there somewhere. Another great show.

  12. I do find that shooting vehicles using close-ups is usually a lot better…nice series. BTW I am off to CO for the next 10 days and I may not be able to comment on BLOGs I follow…when I return, I’ll get caught up. I do have daily posts scheduled, so there will be something from me to view. Have fun!

    • Thanks Robert. I have trouble keeping up on a ‘daily’ basis but will check in when I can. Have a good trip and if you come out west to the San Juans let me know!

  13. The Chevy and Plymouth grills speak to me. Fun stuff.

  14. I loved the views of the other cars and trucks through the broken and shot up windows.

    I’m always lost when shooting cars. You created a wonderful series!

  15. Great post!

  16. You’ve found a photographer’s candy store. Nice job Denise

  17. Great and Incredible shots, thank you, Denise.

  18. Very cool shots, Denise! Looks like you had a lot of fun. I can see you agree, there’s something about rust and metal that is so appealing with photography! 🙂

    • Thank you Donna. I just went to look and I shot about 300 rusty vehicle images that day. I did bracket 3 shots for each composition about 1 stop apart … I never regret doing that because I often blend different exposures in Photoshop … or I just throw away the ones I don’t want. So that means I shot about 100 compositions but only chose 15 to post.

  19. I absolutely adore the patina of old things, and you’ve captured it beautifully! Your compositions are unique – the one with he spider web glass breaks in the foreground grabs my imagination.

  20. I really enjoy the close up of textures, patina and unusual compositions you present here. As a painter myself, texture and composition are of course key components to a good painting. I love taking close up shots of textured surfaces. Great job. Beautiful images.
    Peta

  21. Beautiful! You have some nice compositions of the cars.

  22. Such a lovely photo series Denise! You are really showing these cars from their best side – love how you are able to capture the details. The result is so elegant!

    I got a 50mm for Christmas this year – what a delight it was to carry around the camera with this light-weight lens – lots of fun:)

  23. I always admired your “eye” and this grouping shows why. Nicely seen and captured, Denise.

  24. Rust in peace! ❤

  25. Hi Denise, Fabulous detail and colors! I love the nostalgic feel… simpler times. Great post.

    • Thank you Jane. They sure don’t make them like they used to. I can’t imagine todays cars looking nostalgic and photogenic 60 – 70 years from now.

  26. I never realized that rust could look so interesting and attractive! Great series of photos of a bygone era. Amazing how well they have kept after 60-70 years,

  27. Wow, wonderful find, love the abstract compositions!

  28. Luv Vintage 😍


Leave a Reply

